37 users online (0 members and 37 guests)  


  Results 1 to 12 of 12

Related

  1. frames vs. css    Forum: CSS Forum
    Replies: 3
  2. frames    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 3
  3. frames    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 11
  4. frames help    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 2
  5. frames HELP-please?    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 5
  1. #1
    surferbabe
    surferbabe's Avatar
    Guest

    pleas help me with frames

    on my site
    www.geocities.com/footballerwives2000

    when you click on the actors link it opens up a new indow. how do i make it open on the left instead.

  2. #2
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Sorry, you link doesn't work, so I cannot see for sure what the problem is.

    Chances are, your 'target' for the link is wrong. Make sure it matches the frame name you setup in your <frame> tag.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  3. #3
    surferbabe
    surferbabe's Avatar
    Guest
    sorry about that. maybe try this link http://www.geocities.com/footballerswives2000/index.html

  4. #4
    benzden's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    652
    Here's some of your html code:
    <html>
    <head>

    <base target="frmmain">

    <a href="actorsmain.html" target="frmmain">Actors</a>

    <a href="actorsmain.html"TARGET="frmmain">Actors</a>
    <P>
    <A HREF="C:\WINDOWS\Desktop\episodeguide.htm">Episode Guide</A> ...


    Does your frames launching .htm file show the left (or right frame) being named as "frmmain"?

    Get rid of the redundant actors link.

    The last link is reference a file on your computer. Eliminate the C:\WINDOWS\Desktop\ part and replace it with the name of the folder at your web host server where the episodeguide.htm file is located. (I couldn't find it by typing it in place of index.html in your frames page URL.)

  5. #5
    surferbabe
    surferbabe's Avatar
    Guest
    i give up with frames. too hard changed to tables

  6. #6
    benzden's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    652
    Congratulations! You learned a lot quicker than the rest of us.

  7. #7
    computerfan1's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    14
    I have frames on my page and i was wondering if it is possible to target a button from one frame to the next.

  8. #8
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    computerfan, you can target pretty much anything. Bu 'button' I presume you mean some javascript trickery. Explain what you need and we will try to help.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  9. #9
    Doorknob's Avatar
    Super Newbie

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    316
    to target frame 2 with a button in frame 1,
    u can use a button or a link

    link:
    <a href='URL' target='frame2'>

    button:
    <input type='button' name='name' onClick="top.frame2.href = 'url';">

    replace frame2 with the name of your frame. replace URL with the url of your page. hope that helps

  10. #10
    computerfan1's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    14
    Thanks but I ended up just making a small animation that is easily linked to the other frame

  11. #11
    Doorknob's Avatar
    Super Newbie

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    316

    RE

    lol. the easiest way is normally the best way, as u'll learn if u'r a programmer

  12. #12
    benzden's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    652
    Yeah, the toughest part lies is choosing not to take that harder, more challenging path in favor of the quicker, easy solution.



Tags for this Thread