29 users online (1 members and 28 guests)  


  Results 1 to 12 of 12

Related

  1. If statement inside <td>    Forum: CGI Perl Forum
    Replies: 1
  2. Scrool bar inside table    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 0
  3. Else If inside While Wend    Forum: ASP Forum
    Replies: 9
  4. Replies: 2
  5. html scroll page inside a table?    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 2
  1. #1
    shvemel's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    5

    Why some <td> don't show inside a table?

    I have set a typical html table with 4 td's, each one containing different information. I tested it at an article page within my site and it's working fine, but when I added the code to the home page only the first <td> shows up, the other 3 are hidden! ?
    I couldn't figure out the cause. Any help is greatly appreciated.

    Perhaps its a conflict between the main css file, maybe I need to exclude css style in that table, how do I do that?

    I paste the code
    Code:
    <DIV class=pnlBlockTitle id=ctl00_contentMasterPage_ucRelatedProducts_pnlRelatedProductsTitle>
    <H2>HOT SELLERS...</H2></DIV>
    <DIV>
    <DIV class=pnlPageCustomContent>
    <TABLE style="WIDTH: 533px" cellSpacing=5 cellPadding=9 align=center bgColor=#ffffff border=1 <TBODY>
    <TBODY>
    <TR>
    <TD style="WIDTH: 133px">
    <P><A href="/-P1560.aspx"><IMG alt='Kaco Arlington, 30"-36" Vanity w/Top' src="/ImgDisplay.aspx?img=5300 2400.jpg&amp;h=75&amp;w=75"></A></P>
    <DIV><A href="/-P1560.aspx">Kaco Arlington, 30"-36" Vanity w/Top</A></DIV>
    <DIV class=priceBold>$0</DIV></TD>
    <TD style="WIDTH: 133px">
    <P><A href="/-P300.aspx"><IMG alt="Pacific Silvercloth Silver Drawer Insert - 2 sizes" src="/ImgDisplay.aspx?img=pacific_image.jpg&amp;h=75&amp;w=75"></A></P>
    <DIV><A href="/-P300.aspx">Pacific Silvercloth Silver Drawer Insert - 2 sizes</A></DIV>
    <DIV class=priceBold>$0</DIV></TD>
    <TD style="WIDTH: 133px">
    <P><A href="/-P299.aspx"><IMG alt='Sliding Valet Rod 12" by October' src="/ImgDisplay.aspx?img=valet_rods-new.jpg&amp;h=75&amp;w=75"></A></P>
    <DIV><A href="/-P299.aspx">Sliding Valet Rod 12" by October</A></DIV>
    <DIV class=priceBold>$0</DIV></TD>
    <TD style="WIDTH: 133px">
    <P><A href="/-P6271.aspx"><IMG alt="Herbeau Royale 2-Hole Kitchen Mixer - 3022" src="/ImgDisplay.aspx?img=3022hrb.jpg&amp;h=75&amp;w=75"></A></P>
    <DIV><A href="/-P6271.aspx">Herbeau Royale 2-Hole Kitchen Mixer - 3022</A></DIV>
    <DIV class=priceBold>$0</DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></DIV></DIV>
    The link to the site is www.thehomedecor.net

  2. #2
    coothead's Avatar
    bald headed old fart

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    chertsey, a small town 25 miles south west of london, england.
    Posts
    732

    Re: Why some <td> don't show inside a table?

    Hi there shvemel,

    and a warm welcome to these forums.

    Your page has 581 Errors and 50 warnings.

    I would suggest that you attend to these first.

    If this does not correct your problem then let us know.

  3. #3
    shvemel's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: Why some <td> don't show inside a table?

    Thanks coot.
    Validation is not the case at this point.
    That donít mean much in the real world. (Dan Thies)

    I wonder why Amazon has 1600+ errors

  4. #4
    jthayne's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    508

    Re: Why some <td> don't show inside a table?

    First things first. Coot pointed you to the validation because 9 times out of 10, fixing validation errors will correct issues you are having with the page. It would be worth looking into in any case simply to make sure there are not any glaring errors.

    But to answer your question, the problem is with a CSS conflict. Specifically, the width declared for:

    .text-block p

    Change that width (or just get rid of the width altogether as it did not appear to mess up your site at all), and you will be fine.

  5. #5
    coothead's Avatar
    bald headed old fart

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    chertsey, a small town 25 miles south west of london, england.
    Posts
    732

    Re: Why some <td> don't show inside a table?

    Hi there shvemel,
    Validation is not the case at this point.
    Well I would like to draw your attention to this comment that I read somewhere...
    "Regardless of blame or origin, if the mark-up is invalid, then you may be forcing the browser
    to "guess" what your intentions are. While the standards are pretty specific on what user agents
    should do in specific mark-up circumstances, when they have to guess and make assumptions due to
    invalid mark-up, then there is no guarantee that any two will make the same guesses/assumptions.

    In general it has been my experience that if the HTML/CSS is error-free with a valid, fully
    qualified DOCTYPE declaration as the first line (so that IE is not in "tweaks mode"), 99.99% of
    browser differences disappear (at least when using reasonably current browsers).

    Unfortunately web authors have been spoiled by web browsers that let them get away with invalid
    mark-up. If you were to write a computer program with syntax errors, it would most likely not
    run/compile at all. Browsers instead just do the best they can."
    ...and you will also find that this link is certainly relevant to forums like AHFB2000

  6. #6
    shvemel's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: Why some <td> don't show inside a table?

    The text-block element are declared here:

    Code:
    /*--text-block--*/
    .text-block {
    	clear:both;
    	overflow:hidden;
    	width:534px;
    	margin:10px 0 0 95px;
    	padding:0 0 20px;
    }
    .text-block .img-holder {
    	clear:both;
    	overflow:hidden;
    	margin:0;
    	width:100%;
    }
    .text-block .img-holder img {
    	display:block;
    	margin:0;
    	border:none;
    }
    .text-block .banner-holder {
    	clear:both;
    	overflow:hidden;
    	margin:0 0 0 7px;
    	width:527px;
    }
    .text-block .banner-holder img {
    	display:block;
    	margin:0;
    	border:none;
    }
    .text-block p {
    	clear:both;
    	overflow:hidden;
    	margin:10px 0 0 7px;
    	color:#a52a2a;
    	width:517px;
    	text-align:justify;
    }
    .side-panel {
    	clear:both;
    	overflow:hidden;
    	margin:1px -200px 0 325px;
    	padding:0 0 2px;
    	width:100%;
    	text-align:justify;
            vertical-align:right;
    }
    .text-block p a {
    	color:#a52a2a;
    	text-decoration:underline;
    }
    .text-block p a:hover {color:#f00;}
    .text-block p a span {color:#a52a2a;}
    For the entire css click here http://www.thehomedecor.net/css/all.css
    Last edited by shvemel; 04-29-2009 at 12:31 PM. Reason: added line

  7. #7
    jthayne's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    508

    Re: Why some <td> don't show inside a table?

    Quote Originally Posted by shvemel View Post
    The text-block element are declared here:

    Code:
    /*--text-block--*/
    .text-block {
    	clear:both;
    	overflow:hidden;
    	width:534px;
    	margin:10px 0 0 95px;
    	padding:0 0 20px;
    }
    .text-block .img-holder {
    	clear:both;
    	overflow:hidden;
    	margin:0;
    	width:100%;
    }
    .text-block .img-holder img {
    	display:block;
    	margin:0;
    	border:none;
    }
    .text-block .banner-holder {
    	clear:both;
    	overflow:hidden;
    	margin:0 0 0 7px;
    	width:527px;
    }
    .text-block .banner-holder img {
    	display:block;
    	margin:0;
    	border:none;
    }
    .text-block p {
    	clear:both;
    	overflow:hidden;
    	margin:10px 0 0 7px;
    	color:#a52a2a;
    	width:517px;
    	text-align:justify;
    }
    .side-panel {
    	clear:both;
    	overflow:hidden;
    	margin:1px -200px 0 325px;
    	padding:0 0 2px;
    	width:100%;
    	text-align:justify;
            vertical-align:right;
    }
    .text-block p a {
    	color:#a52a2a;
    	text-decoration:underline;
    }
    .text-block p a:hover {color:#f00;}
    .text-block p a span {color:#a52a2a;}
    For the entire css click here http://www.thehomedecor.net/css/all.css
    Yes, and I have highlighted the line that is causing the problem.

  8. #8
    shvemel's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: Why some <td> don't show inside a table?

    jthayne!

    Thanks!
    You did it, I just deleted the width value and its now showing.

  9. #9
    jthayne's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    508

    Re: Why some <td> don't show inside a table?

    Glad to hear it!

  10. #10
    shvemel's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: Why some <td> don't show inside a table?

    At the end of this huddle.. I noticed another slim problem.

    The menu box at the left does not show the "red-box-bottom" which I used to get and all other boxes are showing well for the top and bottom.

    I assume it's a <div> or </div> missing or extra.
    Tried several things didnt work.

    I appreciate your advice

  11. #11
    coothead's Avatar
    bald headed old fart

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    chertsey, a small town 25 miles south west of london, england.
    Posts
    732

    Re: Why some <td> don't show inside a table?

    Hi there shvemel,
    Tried several things didn't work.
    What you have not tried, though, is the correction of the coding errors that the validator has indicated.
    We are always willing to help you with this task, if you experience problems.

  12. #12
    jthayne's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    508

    Re: Why some <td> don't show inside a table?

    Coot is right. You really need to look through the errors received when validating. The primary one I see is that every instance where you declare a color using a hex code (i.e. #FFFFFF), you do not enclose it in quotes. It needs to be in quotes EVERY time.

    I am not able to look at the code further at the moment, but try the change I mentioned. Also, look through the rest of the errors, and see if there is anything else that you think could be the issue.



Tags for this Thread