38 users online (0 members and 38 guests)  


  Results 1 to 8 of 8

Related

  1. SuperCom Object    Forum: Javascript Forum
    Replies: 1
  2. navigation object in multiple frames    Forum: Javascript Forum
    Replies: 1
  3. Autostart with embed object    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 2
  4. Change object tag content...    Forum: Javascript Forum
    Replies: 2
  1. #1
    deborah's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    37

    Question More then one fixed object.

    I was told this is the site to go to with CSS questions, so I really have my fingers crossed that someone can answer my question.

    I can put a fixed background onto a web page with CSS, but what I've been trying to figure out is how I can add a second, third, fourth, etc. fixed object. I figure I probably have to use in-line commands, but when I test it on Netscape and IE, I can only get it to work with one browser. Is there a way I can do this, or is the problem that the one browser just isn't capable of translating the commands correctly?

    I need heeelllllpppp.
    Thank you very much.

  2. #2
    Doorknob's Avatar
    Super Newbie

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    316
    i think u should use layers/divs for the rest, using the same styling as the body background (ie fixed no-repeat etc). hope that helps.

  3. #3
    deborah's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    37
    Is using the div command referred to as layers, or is layers something different?

  4. #4
    Doorknob's Avatar
    Super Newbie

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    316

    RE

    they're the same thing with different names on IE and Netscape

  5. #5
    deborah's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    37
    Then that's what I was attempting to do when I could only make it work with one browser.

  6. #6
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Layers/ilayers are browser-specific and i think they are depreciated in HTML.

    You can free objects from the flow of the document by using absolute positioning. Intro here -

    http://www.brainjar.com/css/positioning/

    For a working example, my css tutorials at http://css.somepeople.net use absolute and relative positioning for the layout.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  7. #7
    deborah's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    37
    Dean,

    Thanks for replying. The link you gave, http://www.brainjar.com/css/positioning/ does not answer my question. I have never seen an example on any of the dozen or so css tutorials that I've checked out looking for help.

    As near as I can tell, positioning will not fix an object on the page the way the fixed background command will so that other items on your page will scroll by, or scroll over. Absolute positioning allows you to pick a placement of the object relative to the whole web page. I want absolute positioning relative to the browser borders, as you do with the background command.

  8. #8
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    You might be better off looking into Dynamic HTML.

    Great working examples of dhtml @ www.dynamicdrive.com
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?



Tags for this Thread