89 users online (0 members and 89 guests)  


  Results 1 to 7 of 7

Related

  1. Problem with netscape 6.0    Forum: CSS Forum
    Replies: 1
  2. @import and netscape 6x    Forum: CSS Forum
    Replies: 1
  3. Help with Netscape    Forum: CSS Forum
    Replies: 1
  4. Netscape 4.7    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 2
  1. #1
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440

    Smile Netscape 4.x puzzle for you......

    First off, my little project http://www.pathcom.com/~helenb was hastily changed to accommodate Net 4.x. I've now found the time to improve on the hastily thrown together solution that you now see there. I'm not interested in hearing about the decimation of Netscape as a popular browser....I work in an industry where the customer is always right and it better work nomatter the environment!

    Here's the code I'm starting to work with to rest my 'designers conscience':

    <html>
    <head>
    <title>JAVALESS BUTTONS</title>

    <style>

    body { background:url(images/edge_nav3.jpg) repeat-y;background-color:#cccccc; }

    #nav {
    background-color: #003366;
    border: 0px;
    width: 120;
    margin-top: 1px;
    margin-left: 0%;
    margin-right: 0%;
    padding: 1px;
    text-align: left;
    }

    .aaa {
    font-size:12px;
    font-style:italic;
    font-weight:bold;
    font-family:sans-serif;
    text-align: center;
    margin-bottom: 6px;
    margin-top: 6px;
    }

    .aaa a {
    padding: 2px;
    text-decoration: none;
    width: 90%;
    display: block;
    color: #ffff00;
    background-color: #003366;
    border-top: 2px #eeee00 solid;
    border-left: 2px #bbbb00 solid;
    border-bottom: 2px #333300 solid;
    border-right: 2px #555500 solid;
    }

    .aaa a:hover {
    color: #003366;
    background-color: #dddd00;
    border-top: 2px #333300 solid;
    border-left: 2px #555500 solid;
    border-bottom: 2px #eeee00 solid;
    border-right: 2px #bbbb00 solid;
    }

    .aaa a:active {
    color: #003366;
    background-color: #dddd00;
    border-top: 2px #333300 solid;
    border-left: 2px #555500 solid;
    border-bottom: 2px #eeee00 solid;
    border-right: 2px #bbbb00 solid;
    }

    </style>
    </head>

    <body>
    <img src="images/logo.gif" ALT="HelenB's logo" VSPACE=1 height=60 width=110 />


    <div id="nav" class="aaa">
    <a href="../index.html">ALL ABOUT<br /> HELEN....</a>
    </div>

    <div id="nav" class="aaa">
    <a href="../index2.html">LOOK WHAT I'VE<br /> BEEN UP TO!</a>
    </div>

    <div id="nav" class="aaa">
    <a href="../../index3.html">HERE IS WHERE<br />YOU CAN SEE<br />MY WORK</a>
    </div>

    <div id="nav" class="aaa">
    <a href="../../index4.html">WOULD YOU<br />LIKE TO TAKE<br />A CLASS?</a>
    </div>

    <div id="nav" class="aaa">
    <a href="../../index4.html">WEBSITES I<br />LIKE TO VISIT</a>
    </div>

    <div id="nav" class="aaa">
    <a href="../../index4.html">PLEASE SEND<br />A MESSAGE</a>
    </div>


    </body>
    <html>

    The effect works OK in IE what.ever, and most versions of Netscape I've tried (outside of different resolutions from 800x600). This version works OK in Netscape 4.x except that the menu runs together like one long paragraph.
    My puzzle is: what is what would be the simplest solution to 'demarcate' the different links so a Netscape 4.x viewer doesn't get confused. I'm using a javascript code snippet I got from HTMLFORUMS (merci beaucoup!), but I would like the links to be visually intuitive as different links.
    I'm wondering about LAYERS as they're a Netscape doo-hicky. Would I be on the right track?
    Comments very appreciated!
    Last edited by Android; 12-02-2002 at 08:41 PM.

  2. #2
    benzden's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    652
    Don't recognize that <br/> code! Is that some new trick or should it be <br>.

    Also haven't used the <div ...> tag much. Could it include a <br> to resolve your formatting problem?

  3. #3
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    NS4* doesn't support display: block, so your best bodge/workaround (or 'cludge' as my company charmingly puts it) is to use a browser detect script to put he extra <br /> tags in without spoiling it for modern browsers.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  4. #4
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440
    The <br /> is a habit I got into from XHTML. It's backwards compatible.
    There's really nothing serious wrong with the formatting, (to me!), it's just that in my version of NS 4.x the menu's all run together like it was a long list of random words (one or two to a line)down the left side of the page. I'd like to be able to display some form of demarcation(?) between the links so those users can see that there's only 5 links on the list without messing up the way it now looks in IE 800X600.
    Maybe like an <hr> tag between them that only shows up in NS4.x? Except I suppose that that would shift things down the width of the hr. It doesn't necessarily have to be permanent, maybe a background color change on mouseover.......
    Oh, and due to the subject matter and photo resolution (and subsequent download time), I'd like to avoid using any graphics. Otherwise, I'd just use rollover functions/image swaps for both browsers.
    (ps:the things I do for love!)
    On the site now I'm using some code that reacts like an 'alt= attribute' for an anchor image. I suppose that that's OK, but I'd like something more visual.
    Thanks

  5. #5
    benzden's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    652
    It would seem that anything tricky, like stringing a bunch of & nbsp ; (or char #160) together, would be pretty clunky at differing screen resolutions.

    Not having commercial sites dependent upon consistent presentation to the 'masses' of potential customers/clients, and realizing that almost everyone is using Internet Explorer for browsing at 800 x 600 screen resolution, I gave up trying to encode for other possibilites.

    I'm using <CENTER><TABLE WIDTH=92% ...> .... </TABLE></CENTER> and more tables within that structure to make the page look good to me and, hopefully, to those browsing in conditions other than my own.

  6. #6
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440
    I hear you...
    I suppose that one thing I'm up against is the wordiness of the navigation tools and the size of the fonts. My "client" wants the buttons to be conversational. Most of the visitors are women over 40 who are more adept at needle and threading (while their executive-type husbands bring home the bacon than surfing, so I have to take their eye-sight into account as well.
    BTW: this is a framed site.
    Maybe a browser detect and replace is the way to go for NS4.x . You know, rollover images for buttons?. Hmmmmm......I need a quick 'detect NS4.x' and replace the nav frame on 'true'......then make buttons.....good thing I have lotsa vacation time coming up....
    Cheers.

  7. #7
    sonofmidi's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    75

    Use <p> instead

    You'll get real frustrated trying to appease NS4 using current CSS methods w/o using JS. Change the background in #nav to you body background and use <p id="" class=""> instead of div. NS6+, Opera and IE will all work seamlessly and NS4 will simply see a col of nicely spaced links.
    Last edited by sonofmidi; 12-07-2002 at 12:23 PM.



Tags for this Thread