53 users online (0 members and 53 guests)  


  Results 1 to 5 of 5

Related

  1. frames vs. css    Forum: CSS Forum
    Replies: 3
  2. frames    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 3
  3. frames    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 11
  4. frames HELP-please?    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 5
  5. Frames    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 2
  1. #1
    hardwarecraz's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5

    Help with Frames....

    I have a web site with two frames, with the left side containing the navigation scheme and the right, the content. Search engines, such as Google, always point to the content frame HTML pages without the left navigation frame. The result is that the user cannot navigate outside of the page to other parts of my web site. I want every content navigation page to check if the left frame is loaded and if not, it should load the same and then load the content frame. How do I do it? Please help! TIA.

  2. #2
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    Have you tried using the meta noindex nofollow tag? this should keep the spiders from spidering the page and posting it on the results.

    You should also be sure that you have a quality noframes tag for the spiders to use instead.

    Dave
    AHFBWEB Less customers per server, more power for you!

    Business Class Shared Hosting

  3. #3
    hardwarecraz's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5
    Thanks Dave, for your suggestion, and certainly I will give a serious thought to it. In the meantime, the solution I have in mind, is to do some sort of server side scripting, wherein the URL being referred to is first examined and if refers to a frames page, then redirect it to the main page. Mine is a UNIX server, with support for Perl, C, C++, Java JDK, Python, FP 2000 Extns & TCL. Any thoughts on doing it this way? TIA.

  4. #4
    Enigma's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    426
    I know that it can be done with Javascript. I've seen the script on some of the free Javascript sites, usually under a name like "dynamic frames".

  5. #5
    Doorknob's Avatar
    Super Newbie

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    316
    admin edit: when placing code in a post please do NOT post it within the first 50 chars. Code placed in this area is picked up by the home page and translated, therefore restructuring the front page. Dave
    <script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
    //Set redirect page
    var url = "http://www.your-url.com/"; //Should this page be in frames?
    // y for yes and n for no
    frameEnforcer("y");
    function frameEnforcer(frames) {
    if (frames == 'y'){
    if (self.parent.frames.length == 0){
    self.parent.location = url;
    }
    }
    else if (frames == 'n'){
    if (self.parent.frames.length != 0){ self.parent.location=url;
    }
    }
    }
    //-->
    </script>
    Last edited by HTML; 12-04-2002 at 09:41 AM.



Tags for this Thread