41 users online (1 members and 40 guests)  


  Results 1 to 8 of 8

Related

  1. Pop-up Window within PHP how?    Forum: PHP Forum
    Replies: 3
  2. Passing value from parent window to child window    Forum: Javascript Forum
    Replies: 0
  3. Replies: 0
  4. Replies: 1
  1. #1
    nasos's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    boston
    Posts
    6

    How can I have a second window to pop up when someone goes to my web site?

    How can I have a second window to pop up when someone goes to my web site?

    I would like to give some instructions to the user that visits my website on how to print my page.

  2. #2
    Mikailus's Avatar
    Ugly Geezer

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    135
    Why not just add a print page button? Or does the page have to be printed in landscape format? I always find people at a loss to understand the difference with that problem.

    You could link to a page and have the link open in a new window e.g. <a href="instructions.htm" target="_blank">Printing Instructions</a>

    or you could use the pop up maker tool on this site ( <<<< link in left column)

  3. #3
    nasos's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    boston
    Posts
    6
    I did use the pop up maker tool on this page after I posted the message but I can't integrate it. I am using Dream weaver.

  4. #4
    Mikailus's Avatar
    Ugly Geezer

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    135
    The editor you use wouldn't be a factor. I've not used the pop up maker here but, assuming it's still working correctly and the code it outputs is valid, it should work.

    Maybe someone who has used it (pegboy?) could give a better explaination of what to do?

    I'll go make a pop-up.... ~~hanging head~~ sorry nite ... and tell you what I did to make it work assuming it does work!

  5. #5
    Mikailus's Avatar
    Ugly Geezer

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    135
    Well, after 3 minutes hard work I failed to get a pop up. Over to someone who uses pop ups.....

  6. #6
    benzden's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    652
    filler
    filler

    Go to:

    http://tests.gumint.com

    to find various methods of doing that, paying special attention to the "print" links. Look inside the source code to see how to do it.

  7. #7
    Mikailus's Avatar
    Ugly Geezer

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    135
    ....and after a further two minutes diligently working out how I screwed up I came up with this which opens a 500x500 window and displays the target page. I chose not to use toolbars etc because I'm too lazy to check all those boxes:

    <html>

    <head>

    <title>Pop up test</title>

    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
    <!-- Thanks to Nic Wolfe http://fineline.xs.mw -->

    <!-- Begin
    function popup(URL) {
    day = new Date();
    id = day.getTime();
    eval("page" + id + " = window.open(URL, '" + id + "', 'toolbar=0,scrollbars=0,location=0,statusbar=0,menubar=0,resizable=0,width=500,height=500,left = 150,top = 50');");
    }
    // End -->
    </script>

    </head>

    <body>

    <p align="center"><form>
    <input type=button value="Open the Popup Window" onClick="javascriptopup('http://www.yourdomain.com/the-page-you-want-to-pop-up.htm')">
    </form></A></p>

    </body>

    </html>
    Last edited by Mikailus; 12-05-2002 at 10:23 PM.

  8. #8
    Doorknob's Avatar
    Super Newbie

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    316

    RE

    or you could just use javascriptand go with
    <input type=button name=print value="Print" onClick="javascript:window.print()">
    Last edited by HTML; 12-09-2002 at 03:33 PM.



Tags for this Thread