72 users online (1 members and 71 guests)  


  Results 1 to 8 of 8

Related

  1. Problem with borders around tables,    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 2
  2. Replies: 2
  3. Problem with tables    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 0
  4. Replies: 2
  5. A problem with tables    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 4
  1. #1
    AndyHingston's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Longcot, Oxon
    Posts
    3

    Exclamation Problem aliging tables

    Hi..

    I am just using a 3 column table to create my index page and I would like the table centred.

    I have a set of navigation buttons in the middle column and some images in the other two, so I have had to fix the column widths.

    Now..I have some DIVS that need to be aligned with each one of the nav buttons. Trouble is, I have an absolute position tag on them and when the page size changes the table centres and then the DIV does not align with the button.
    Even going full screen changes the position too much.

    How can I ensure that these DIVS align with my table objects?

  2. #2
    benzden's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    652
    Haven't yet gotten into using <DIV ALIGN=...>s much myself, but I'm sure those who do would like to see the page you're discussing. What's the URL?

  3. #3
    Doorknob's Avatar
    Super Newbie

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    316
    why not use relative positioning?

  4. #4
    AndyHingston's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Longcot, Oxon
    Posts
    3

    No Images - Sorry guys

    Hi everyone,

    Firstly may I say how impressed I am to see so many responses to my post..Thankyou.

    I guess I have not used relative positioning because I do not really understand all of the text book info I have read on the subject!

    You can see the page at:-

    http://freespace.virgin.net/andy.hingston/

    There is a small vertical line and its coresponding text that appears when you hover over the nav buttons.

    If you then press F11 or resize the window, these DIVS appear to move - but I think it is the table re-centering!

    Problem is how to I overcome this problem without some kind of script?

    Thanks Again

  5. #5
    benzden's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    652
    Using WIDTH=800 doesn't leave room for the browsers vertical scroll bar. I've found that widths of 760 or 770 work better. Or, jsut leave out the WIDTH= there or make it =100%.

    You've got an awful lot of empty space in the middle by design with the <TD WIDTH=...> <TABLE ...> cells. I'd use percentages for the outside table to make it more friendly to varying screen resolutions and then create smaller <TABLE ...>s within cells with fixed <TD WIDTH...>s to force whatever formatting is desired.

  6. #6
    Doorknob's Avatar
    Super Newbie

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    316
    use percentages.

    *edited to add code tags - Dean
    *edited to correct front page problem - Dave

    Code:
    <table width='100%'>
    <tr><td width='20%'></td></tr>
    <tr><td width='6*%'></td></tr>
    <tr><td width='20%'></td></tr>
    </table>
    Last edited by HTML; 12-31-2002 at 09:19 AM.

  7. #7
    AndyHingston's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Longcot, Oxon
    Posts
    3

    Try again...

    Hi Guys,

    I decided to create a simple test page to see if it helps understand my problem. If you just resize the page you will see that the Layer DIVS appear to move, however they have an absolute position so I believe that it is the table re-centering?

    Can be viewed at http://freespace.virgin.net/andy.hingston

    I am really considering using rollover images instead of hiding/showing layers, which I felt was the best method at the time!

    Somebody out there must have designed a page with a similar navigation system ;-(

    Happy 2003 to everyone..

  8. #8
    Doorknob's Avatar
    Super Newbie

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    316
    that's why i just use links

    i used to maintain a website that had a navigational system using divs, i used relative positioning and it never gave problems



Tags for this Thread