90 users online (0 members and 90 guests)  


  Results 1 to 6 of 6

Related

  1. Replies: 0
  2. Replies: 5
  3. Question    Forum: Website Scripts Forum
    Replies: 1
  4. Premature end of script headers error    Forum: CGI Perl Forum
    Replies: 1
  5. Yet another question?    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 3
  1. #1
    sshadow's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ga, USA
    Posts
    48

    Question Question about Headers (I think)

    I was wondering if anyone could point me to something that would explain how to use headers on my site. I think thats what you call them anyway. If not this is what I would like to do. I want to be able to use the same file for the top part of all my pages that way it makes it much easier to maintain everything. Now I believe I have seen something about this before but at the time I really didnt think much of it but now I cant seem to find anything about it. If anyone could point me in the right direction or tell me a little about it. It would be appreciated.

    ------------------
    Shadow

  2. #2
    Enigma's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    426

    Post

    You can do it with either SSI or external Javascript files.
    http://bignosebird.com/sdocs/include.shtml http://htmlgoodies.earthweb.com/beyond/ssi.html http://htmlgoodies.earthweb.com/beyond/extjs.html



    ------------------

  3. #3
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662

    Post

    Are you talking about Style-Sheets?

    Or Includes?

    Gis a clue.... what info do you want in there?

    ------------------
    QuietDean-

  4. #4
    sshadow's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ga, USA
    Posts
    48

    Post

    Well for one i have the same image at the top of almost all my pages. But the major thing is the menu I have. I wanted to be able to make changes to it without having to add it to all the pages. I know frames can make it easy to do this but I wanted to stay away from using frames for that.

    And thanx Enigma I will look at those sites to.

    ------------------
    Shadow

  5. #5
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662

    Post

    In a nutshell -

    All the html you want to 'include', paste it into a text file and call it something.txt ot .html

    Whack it onto the server, then in each page you write use -

    <!--include virtual="something.txt" -->

    The space after the double quote is important, dont forget it.

    Each page has to be saved as .shtml

    Thsi is so the server parses it for the command you have put in. This also means that the server HAS to support SSI, or Server Side Includes.

    NOTE - dont put <HEAD>, <BODY> or any of those type of tags in the included file, otherwise you will have a page with two heads etc.

    ------------------

  6. #6
    Zaire's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Hamburg, NY
    Posts
    312

    Post

    you could use php, which also needs to be placed on a cgi server if your on spaceports
    and it would look like

    <?php
    include("http://urlto.com/file.ext");
    ?>



Tags for this Thread