38 users online (0 members and 38 guests)  


  Results 1 to 7 of 7

Related

  1. Linking to Frames from outside pages    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 1
  2. Linking to Inline Frames    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 1
  3. Linking...    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 2
  4. Replies: 8
  5. linking to files    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 2
  1. #1
    Sara1's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3

    Question Frames and linking help

    Hi,

    I am trying to send an email with a link to my homepage (consists of 3 frames) but I want to be able to open up any page of website in the main window.

    If that didn't make any sense let me give an example of what I mean...

    INDEX page consists of a title frame, CONTENTS frame with links and a MAIN frame. Pretty standard.

    When the page is opened an INTRODUCTION page is viewed in the MAIN frame.

    I would like to create a link to my INDEX page but with a difffent page in the MAIN frame. ie I would like this link to open the NEWS page in the MAIN frame if I choose whilst keeping INTRODUCTION as the default page.

    I hope this has made some sense and that someone out there can help.

    Many thanks,
    Sara

  2. #2
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    Hi Sara1, welcome to the forums

    It would be much easier to understand if we had a link to see what you have so far.

    Dave
    AHFBWEB Less customers per server, more power for you!

    Business Class Shared Hosting

  3. #3
    Sara1's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3
    Hi Dave,

    Unfortunately the website is on an intranet which is not available to the public

    I am happy to answer any questions to make my problem clearer.

    MAybe this will help.

    Imagine that this home page (http://www.ahfb2000.com/), even though it is not, is infact made of three frames, the title bar at the top, the side contents frame and then the contents frame which currently has the quote
    "...Remember being a youngster, mom or dad telling you "close the door". Well the same applies to HTML...."
    on it.

    Now Click on a link in the contents section...say the next one down, SITEMAP. Assuming that the title and contents don't change becuase they are frames, how would I create a link from some other webpage that would take me directly to this view rather than having to start at the introduction page and click the sitemap link.

    I assume it would have to be something along the lines of

    "http://www.ahfb2000.com/? something to do with the frame name"

    Does this help?
    Sara

  4. #4
    Mikailus's Avatar
    Ugly Geezer

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    135
    Could you copy and paste the code for the page? Then we could still view it, or most of it.

  5. #5
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    Ahh I get you now, Basically you will need to build a new frameset for any other page changing of course the url of the main frame. give this frameset the appropriate name and of course if you want this page in the engines build a good noframes tag.

    Dave
    AHFBWEB Less customers per server, more power for you!

    Business Class Shared Hosting

  6. #6
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    slap me, it is an intra, you dont want it on the engines.

    ...been a long day

    Dave
    AHFBWEB Less customers per server, more power for you!

    Business Class Shared Hosting

  7. #7
    Sara1's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3
    HI again,

    thanks for your help. It's actually sorted.

    Changed the page to asp and added:

    <%
    Dim strFrameSource

    If Request("startpage")<>"" Then
    strFrameSource = Request("startpage")
    Else
    strFrameSource = "Introduction.asp"
    End If
    %>

    Cheers.
    Sara



Tags for this Thread