21 users online (0 members and 21 guests)  


  Results 1 to 15 of 15

Related

  1. Linking iframes in different page?    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 1
  2. problem with linking a page    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 5
  3. Linking within a page    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 8
  4. Replies: 1
  1. #1
    coobs's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    9

    Talking page linking problem i believe

    thank u guys for ur help thus far...and i've taken out the browser resizing stuff =)

    ...i have another question. if u go to the following link and click on 'sweet'. keep going until you find a big white space on top of the frame index33-bottom.html

    Why does that big white space replace my sweet-top6.html frame?


    http://www.johnuher.com/portfolio.html

  2. #2
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    It would make things much easier if you gave us a link to the exact document with the problem, rather than having to keep looking for it.

    Dave
    AHFBWEB Less customers per server, more power for you!

    Business Class Shared Hosting

  3. #3
    coobs's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    9
    well...i would love to give you the exact link, but the way it turned out...each page is named:
    johnuher.com/portfolio.html
    So...as you scroll through the portfolio, because of the frames, every page seems to be named johnuher.com/portfolio.html.

    Im sorry if you have to scroll through 3 pages...but it would help alot if you had a simpler way of accomplishing the same thing so i could give u a direct link...do you?

  4. #4
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Sorry, could you define 'keep going' as I just made myself very, very hungry looking at gorgeous sweets trying to find whats wrong.

    I have to go get some chocolate now
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  5. #5
    coobs's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    9
    ok, sorry.

    After the initial click on 'sweet' on:
    http://www.johnuher.com/portfolio.html

    you'll click on the right hand arrow 5 times.
    on the 5th time, you should see a grey nav. frame on the bottom and a big blank white frame on the top...taking up most of the page.
    I'd like to know what this white frame is from.

    Im starving too...still didnt eat lunch =)

  6. #6
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Urm. It works fine for me. The fifth, sixth all okay. I start to loop after that.

    I am using IE6 sp1. What browser r u using?
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  7. #7
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Hmm. Mozilla I get the problem, looking at source now.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  8. #8
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Shouldnt the link be to -

    sweet-top6.html

    instad of sweet6.html?
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  9. #9
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    sweet6.html is an 'invisible frame -

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
       2: <html>
       3: 
       4: 	<head>
       5: 		<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html;charset=ISO-8859-1">
       6: 				<title>John Uher Photography: Portfolio</title>
       7: 	</head>
       8: 
       9: 	<frameset rows="*,0" border="0" framespacing="0" bordercolor="white" frameborder="no" cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0>
      10: 		<frame src="http://www.johnuher.com/sweet-top6.html" name="sweet-top6" noresize scrolling="no">
      11: </frameset>
      12: 	<noframes>
      13: 
      14: 		<body>
      15: 		
      16: 		</body>
      17: 
      18: 	</noframes>
      19: 
      20: </html>
    Its probably that that is causing the problem.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  10. #10
    coobs's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    9
    i use netscape 7 and ie5 on a mac

    just realized that on ie it works ok... very strange
    any suggestions for netscape users..if it is a netscape thang?

  11. #11
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    try linking direct to sweet-top6.html instead of sweet6.html.

    I think the 'invisible' frame may be causing problems.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  12. #12
    coobs's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    9
    how would u link directly to that and include another frame on the page? Am i wrong that i need to have one page that lists the 2 frames in order to have the 2 frames on the one page?

  13. #13
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    you have a frame already. Its in the frame.

    At the moment, your link opens up another (pointless) frame within that frame. If your link goes direct to the other page, it will remain within the current frame, leaving the bottom bar intact. Try it.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  14. #14
    coobs's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    9
    ok, ur absolutely right. Thanks.

    guess its been a bit too long since my html class, hehe

    thanks everyone...i really appreciate the help!!

  15. #15
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    No worries, glad its working.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?



Tags for this Thread