57 users online (0 members and 57 guests)  


  Results 1 to 8 of 8

Related

  1. Mysql && Microsoft Outlook Express    Forum: Databases
    Replies: 1
  2. Replies: 0
  1. #1
    Zen's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5

    A form That emails... not using outlook

    Hello, i have a rather simple form, and all i want it to do is take the information and email it to me from the website... without opening the visiters outlook and having them Basically email it to me... the point is to provide a seemless input, with nothing popping up and i get an email from the website itself...

    What exactly would be the best way to go... i have a shakey handle on PHP that i could brush up on, i can deal with CGI if i have to... but i was hoping there was something easier

    Text field information emailed directly to me w/o using the visiters own email programs

    Thank you For any help

  2. #2
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Hello Zen.

    CGI = Common Gateway Interface.

    Its a way for a submission from your computer (and a website is on your computer when you submit it, otherwise, how could you see it?) to some kind of translating interface that processes the information and sends it off in the form of an email.

    Thats the long, pointless was of saying yes, you do need some kind of gateway interface. Any server-side script can do it, Perl/CGI, PHP, ASP.

    I once wrote a php 'universal' email script and posted it in these forums. It works for any form input, and only takes a teeny bit of configuration.

    its here, have fun -

    http://www.ahfb2000.com/webmaster_he...t=email+script

    Any questions, post 'em back here -
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  3. #3
    Zen's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5

    Talking

    You have been amazingly helpfull.

    ok just to grab the reigns a bit i posted exactly what you had on the front into a free domian that supports PHP... it tells me i have an error on Line 2

    http://zenjosh66.coolfreepage.com

    wut did i do wrong?
    theres 2 files... an index... and the mailer.php

    thanx
    Zen
    Last edited by Zen; 01-30-2003 at 12:13 PM.

  4. #4
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    I have no idea how that got there

    change the /? on line two of mailer.php to // and it probabaly will still not work.

    coolfreepages.com are unique in that they have disabled the mail() function in php!

    I do not know if this is still the case, you will have to make the above change and try it out.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  5. #5
    Zen's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5
    Ok... im moving along swiftly... i got it functional and everything...

    THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP!
    This lil Script is my new best friend... Except,

    when I changed all the Text Field names so i could distinguish information... and then uploaded it to retry, it sluggged along for a long time and then eventually gave me thsi error...

    ERROR
    The requested URL could not be retrieved

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    While trying to retrieve the URL: http://members.igosite.com/home/acidjazz/mailer.php

    The following error was encountered:

    Zero Sized Reply
    Squid did not receive any data for this request.

    Your cache administrator is root.



    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Generated Thu, 30 Jan 2003 23:42:57 GMT by hdsl-csbno-cinisello-gw.csbno.net (Squid/2.4.STABLE7)

  6. #6
    Zen's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5
    I put spaces in the text names .... is that the problem??

  7. #7
    Zen's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5
    ALright i removed the spaces and its a GO

    this site is the best damn site in the world right now....

    Thank you so very much

  8. #8
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Yes, the spaces r something I should of thought of.

    I may well improve the basic code for this, same idea (any form will be able to post to it) but some checks and balances , and maybe some built-in stuff.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?



Tags for this Thread