43 users online (1 members and 42 guests)  

Related

1. Graphics program.    Forum: Graphics Forum
    Replies: 2
  2. Protecting content...    Forum: Internet Services
    Replies: 0
  3. Need help with protecting images    Forum: Graphics Forum
    Replies: 7
  4. SVG Rollover graphics    Forum: Graphics Forum
    Replies: 7
  5. Graphics Rollovers help please    Forum: Javascript Forum
    Replies: 1
    New User

Status

Exclamation Protecting Graphics

I'm an artist who sells work online. On my own site I have disabled right click & the annoying Internet Explorer image bar, so those pages are safe. MY PROBLEM IS I also use offer free e-cards, hosted by bravenet & I want to add others, BUT I can't figure out how to protect my images there.

When a user clicks on one of my designs to see an enlarged version, it brings up a page hosted at my site, though it's not a page in the usual sense. The image source is: www.mysite/imageNAME.jpg

just a blank page with the image on it.

CLick here to see what I mean:

http://pub25.bravenet.com/postcard/post.php?usernum=2141716547

Is there any code (html or otherwise!) I could put on my INDEX page to protect all graphics generated from my site?

Many thanks for any bright ideas

Oriana

Status
    One you display an image, it can be copied by anyone. Think of a song on the radio. Nothing keeps you from recording a copy for yourself once it is broadcast. You may consider offering only a watermarked image for previewing. Many people use an image galley that stores the image info in a db. Then when the image is called, it would have an address like:

http://mysite.com/img_gallery.php?gallery=1&pic=33

The gallery script would prevent anyone from simply entering that address in their browser by means of an anti-leech mechanism which means it can only be served from your domain or IP. Obviously, anti-leech is more suited toward downloadable files, but this does help prevent hotlinking.

Administrator

Status