49 users online (0 members and 49 guests)  

Thread: how do I


  Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    mrdiecast's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    6

    how do I

    My trade board has gone from html to css, and I use to have a button to click to goto another page in each post, my question is how do I do a clickable image link..?

  2. #2
    Mr. Blue's Avatar
    Evil twin of Dave

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    148
    Code:
    <a href="location"><img src="image name"></img></a>

  3. #3
    mrdiecast's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    6
    so its basicaly the same as html ..? I don't have to change the < to { for it to work in css

  4. #4
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440

    Smile No, not the same as HTML.....

    It's not so much as going "from html to css" as it is changing the way the info is presented (decorated).
    Before, it was probably presented using HTML attributes for colours and fonts, whereas with CSS those things are now handled using style sheets. Images and anchors (clickable buttons) are handled by the HTML coding.
    Hover effects and the way the image looks upon clicking may also be handled by CSS as it is a presentational element, not a content thing.
    Clear as mud? It might be easier explained if you could supply a link.

  5. #5
    mrdiecast's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    6
    ok, heres how it use to work, <a href="http://www.voy.com/15148/"><img src="http://www.mrdiecast.net/smallfb.gif"></a> and it was placed in the author area of my trade board at http://www.bdtb.net , well over the weekend they switched from a html based forum to css, which when the tranfer took place removed all my old html work. I use to have the button above the Authors name so you could check feedback the person posting, thanks for all the help so far

  6. #6
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440
    Do you mean the Click Here For/FEEDBACK BOARD image near the top? Can't tell what (if anything) is wrong.
    What did it used to do? Or where did it used to be? What's it doing (or not doing) that it didn't (or did) before?
    Need some elaboration

  7. #7
    mrdiecast's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    6
    no,thats a different banner,I put that there so people could goto the page, in the post,the space where the banner supposed to be is over the authors name on the side of the box, something like where the icons are here in the post where it says member or junior member, except mine were a clickable link

  8. #8
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440

    Hmmmmm......I think I know what you're saying.....

    You're saying the <a href="xxx">< img src="xxx"></a> has been completely removed from after <td valign=top> and class="c1" has been inserted into the td tag like <td valign=top class="c1"> . Is that correct?
    If you had an old copy of the site in you're cache you might be able to decipher what's missing and have it put back.

  9. #9
    mrdiecast's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    6
    UUUhhhhhhhh yea...I think thats what I said

  10. #10
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440

    LOL LOL

    So now where do we stand?

  11. #11
    mrdiecast's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    6
    ok, heres my sheet
    .cb{background-color:#000000}
    .chd{background-color:blue;font-family:arial;font-weight:bold;color:#ffffff;font-size:15pt}
    .c1{background-color:dddddd;font-weight:bold}
    .c2{background-color:#ffffff;font-weight:bolder;font-size:15pt}
    .cp{background-color:#aed1e8}

    .c1 is the line that use to be html that contained the clickable image link of <a href="http://www.voy.com/15148/"><img src="http://www.mrdiecast.net/smallfb.gif"></a> when it was ahtml base forum, so what I'm asking is how I would put that link back in that line so it would work

  12. #12
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440
    .c1 is the class used to style that element (the <td>). The contents (text and images) of that element are defined or called for in the document's HTML . Therefore, you have to insert the image the same way as always (by including it within the <td>.
    Thus:
    ----------------------------------
    <td valign=top class=c1>
    <img src="image.gif"><br>
    <font size=-1><b>Author:</b><br>
    <a href="mailto:whoever@wherever.com">Yourname Here</a><br></font></td>
    --------------------------------------
    You might have to play around with image widths and heights, but does that give you any help? Like I said before, If you could find the site in your 'history' (your cache), you might be able to see it the way it used to be.
    (To make sure you're seeing an old copy of the page, make sure you're 'working offline', or you might just see the updated version of the page.)
    BTW: Why is the font size defined as '-1' in a font tag? Sort of defeats the purpose of using CSS, doesn't it?
    Last edited by Android; 03-20-2003 at 10:29 AM.

  13. #13
    Doorknob's Avatar
    Super Newbie

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    316
    <img src="image_url" onClick="this.location.href='url_to_go_to';" onMouseOver="alert('Android is fat');">

    just kidding

    if you're in a frame then
    <img src="image_url" onClick="document.framename.location.href='url_to_go_to';">

  14. #14
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440

    I'm not fat, I'm FAT32! :D

    LOL
    Originally posted by Doorknob
    <img src="image_url" onClick="this.location.href='url_to_go_to';" onMouseOver="alert('Android is fat');">

    My wife keeps alerting me to that fact. I don't need the javascript!