41 users online (1 members and 40 guests)  


Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last
  Results 1 to 15 of 16

Related

  1. snap view of a page on mouse over    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 2
  2. view at the top of page    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 1
  3. Page view    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 2
  4. Replies: 5
  5. Single Page, Multiple Backgrounds?    Forum: Website Scripts Forum
    Replies: 6
  1. #1
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440

    Single page needs different browsers to view.

    This is just the first page for a site I'm re-vamping. What I was wondering is if it could get checked out in several different browsers and see if it's still usable in the more popular ones.
    Forget NS 4.x. (I already have!).
    I've only seen it in IE 6 on Win ME, 98, and 2000.

    Careful with the links. They'll take you to the current version of the site and you might get lost there.
    Just tell me if it's OK, or if there's a problem somewhere, and what browser/version you're using. If there's something pretty drastic, screen shots (and advice) would be very welcome.
    The page is
    http://www.pathcom.com/~helenb/forview.html .
    Again, it's just the first page. If it looks and works ok, I'm pretty sure the rest of the site will be ok.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    benzden's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    652
    Looks okay at 800 x 600 with IE 5.0+

    The left menu shifts along with the vertical scrolling and the links even work.

  3. #3
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Browser: Mozilla 1.4a
    OS: Win2k

    DHTML menu collapses to bottom of page (you have to huntiing for it). As a consequence, the 'left column' is too wide, forcing horizontal scrollbar.

    Sorry d00d. Looks fine otherwise.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  4. #4
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    pic - http://test.quietdean.com/android.jpg
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  5. #5
    Enigma's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    426
    OK with IE 5 at 1024x768

  6. #6
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440
    [QUOTE][i]Originally posted by QuietDean [/i]
    [B]Browser: Mozilla 1.4a
    OS: Win2k

    DHTML menu collapses to bottom of page (you have to huntiing for it). As a consequence, the 'left column' is too wide, forcing horizontal scrollbar.

    [/B][/QUOTE]
    Do you think that it's a quirk of the browser? Or is there anything (preferably simple) that could be added to the code to correct it? I was aware of the problems in NS4 and wasn't sure about anything. That's why I set up the alternate navigation at the top and bottom of the page.
    In terms of the intended audience, I'm pretty sure that they're IE oriented.
    And benzden: I know the links work, they just go to the current version of the site. You're liable to get lost if you try to navigate around there and try to get back to the new page.

  7. #7
    Doorknob's Avatar
    Super Newbie

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    316

    RE:

    OS: win2k service pack 2
    browser: 6.0, no patches
    works fine

    OS: win2k service pack 3
    browser: 6.0, service pack1, latest security patches
    works fine

    OS: winNT service pack 6
    browser: 6.0, service pack1, latest security patches
    works fine

    OS: winNT service pack 6
    browser: 5.5
    works fine

    since i have a testing environment set up at the office for app. testing anyway, thought i'd help u out

  8. #8
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    The a in 1.4a is for Alpha, so I would not worry too much until stable release.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  9. #9
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440
    Oh good, I was considering downloading alpha and was reading about it's bugs and fixes. I don't know if I should be too concerned at this point. Any fix I do would be moot if it's indeed a bug.
    Anybody seen it in Nescape 6 or 7?

  10. #10
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440
    [QUOTE][i]Originally posted by Android [/i]
    [B]Anybody seen it in Nescape 6 or 7? [/B][/QUOTE]
    Pretty Please?

  11. #11
    sonofmidi's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    75
    If it was seen in Mozilla/5, then NS6/7 will basically be the same. NS uses the Mozilla engine. BTW, why don't you just download the browsers and check them yourself? Kinda lazy isn't it?

  12. #12
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440
    [QUOTE][i]Originally posted by sonofmidi [/i]
    [B]BTW, why don't you just download the browsers and check them yourself? Kinda lazy isn't it? [/B][/QUOTE]
    Ahem,[i] lazy[/i]? I call it [i]resourceful[/i]
    It's more for curiosity than anything. I'm not going to waste download time and HD space on browsers I would only use for web designing when there are plenty of people willing to check it out for you.
    Like I said, I'm in no hurry. I don't do this for a living.

  13. #13
    sonofmidi's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    75
    [quote]I would only use for web designing[/quote]
    That's the point. Offline comparisons to fix designs before they ever hit the web. Opera7, NS4 and Phoenix (UML ver of Mozilla) collectively would take up less space than a single mp3. Multiple browsers on my box are as essential as my desktop Apache/PHP/MySQL, editors, gfx apps, etc. in developing designs. BTW, Phoenix is a fine, stable browser with built-in popup blocking and browser tabs. I use it as much as IE for surfing.
    Last edited by sonofmidi; 04-21-2003 at 04:30 PM.

  14. #14
    benzden's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    652
    Considering all the problems I had with Netscape screwing up and not releasing control of my default email process, I'll never re-install it - and I considered the pre-6.0 version to be the best browser around.

  15. #15
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440
    [QUOTE][i]Originally posted by benzden [/i]
    [B]Considering all the problems I had with Netscape screwing up and not releasing control of my default email process [/B][/QUOTE]
    I get something like that when I open Adobe Image Editor (and [i] only[/i] Adobe Image Editor) except it tells me that Outlook is not my default and if I would like it to be I can change the settings in Outlook. When I check, Outlook is [i]already[/i] set to be default. Is this because NS 4 is screwing around?
    (and OT)
    Last edited by Android; 04-22-2003 at 07:56 AM.



Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last

Tags for this Thread