45 users online (0 members and 45 guests)  


  Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440

    "TCP_ERROR" baffles me...

    This has been going on for a year or so, and nobody I know can figure it out. The website is Northcott Silks' http://www.northcott.net but all we've been getting for a year now is the TCP_ERROR message you get describing a communication problem which may be:
    The Web server may be down.
    The Web server may be too busy.
    The Web server may be experiencing other problems, preventing it from responding to clients.
    The communication path may be experiencing problems.

    We've emailed the company and they swear that the website is online and OK. We've tried on a few different computers using various OS's and browsers, providers, and locations, but all we're getting is this error. It shows up when you Google it as well. It's been like this for a year now!
    Am I bonkers?
    Can anybody else access this site?

  2. #2
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Cannot find server or DNS Error
    Internet Explorer
    IE6, win2k.

    I think the company do not know the difference between a connection from within a network and a DNS entry

    I am in the UK, quite a stretch from you, so prob not a local issue.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  3. #3
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440
    Maybe I should email the error page to them? Or a screen shot showing their URL in the address bar? My wife has a piece entered in a competition of their's that's touring the country, and would really like to see the piece online.
    Really, a whole year of this? And we're the only ones to complain?

  4. #4
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Screen shot prob be favourite.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  5. #5
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    I am getting the dns error too.
    Have you tried a whois to verify the nameservers and IPs are correct?

    Off topic, I am confused
    My wife has a piece entered
    I could have sworn there was a post that identified you as a female, do you and your wife both post here under Android?

    Dave
    AHFBWEB Less customers per server, more power for you!

    Business Class Shared Hosting

  6. #6
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    This may also help

    http://www.northcott.net
    was redirected to
    http://www.northcott.net/

    Response code from http://www.northcott.net/
    Can't connect to www.northcott.net:80 (Connection refused) (code 500)
    Is the index page just plain HTML or something else?

    Dave
    AHFBWEB Less customers per server, more power for you!

    Business Class Shared Hosting

  7. #7
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440
    Originally posted by Dave
    Off topic, I am confused
    I could have sworn there was a post that identified you as a female, do you and your wife both post here under Android?

    Dave
    Nope, I'm the only Android in this house. I'd like to see the post where you got confused. Maybe because I posted a link to my one and only website (which is my wife's). She does the art. I do the computer stuff. I had to learn this because people kept telling her she should have a website. Like I don't have enough hobbies.

    Or, hmmmmmm, nooooooo, couldn't be. Maybe she's secretly using my login when I'm at work. Nawwww. She couldn't be bothered. After 23 years, I think I know her well enough.

    BTW visit her site oftenhttp://www.pathcom.com/~helenb . (She likes to see the hit counter go up.) I'm still working on the next version thanks to Netscape.

    I'll get on Northcotts case with the ammo thanks.

  8. #8
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440
    Originally posted by Dave
    This may also help
    http://www.northcott.net
    was redirected to
    http://www.northcott.net/

    Response code from http://www.northcott.net/
    Can't connect to www.northcott.net:80 (Connection refused) (code 500)

    Is the index page just plain HTML or something else?

    Dave
    Forgot to answer your question. It's just plain HTML. I did see it along time ago when we first had the problem at home, but I could see it at work which confused me at the time but I wasn't concerned as she only wanted an email contact anyway.

    I tried whois, but I guess I'm a klutz. How did you get that result? All I get is who it's registered to. Am I at the right Whois site?

  9. #9
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    I have pmd you.
    AHFBWEB Less customers per server, more power for you!

    Business Class Shared Hosting

  10. #10
    Doorknob's Avatar
    Super Newbie

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    316
    http://www.pathcom.com/~helenb/

    nice website

  11. #11
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440

    Update.......

    I was running into speed problems at work (intranet OK, internet VERY slow) and did some troubleshooting on my own before calling IT (deleted History, cookies, *.tmp files) and nothing changed. I started changing proxie servers (I have a choice of something like 8 proxie servers to chose from). When I changed to the fifth different proxy server everything started working OK. Strange thing is, now I can get to http://www.northcott.net with no TCP_IP errors.
    I don't know if it's related to my work computer problems, or major coincidence that changing proxy servers can make a difference in internet website access, or Northcott found a problem at their end and solved it.

    Problem's solved from work. Now I gotta see what the problem is on my home 'puters.

  12. #12
    kenmckee's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1
    Sorry have to keep my input short without much further detail or explanation. People who run across this forum thread and really want to figure out the problem should consider looking into MTU and MaxMTU registry settings. Suggest combining MTU with other key search words you are using when searching for answers to this problem. Basic gist of the concept I'm hinting at is that every proxy server has a different Max MTU setting and in certain instances the MTU setting on a given computer accessing a proxy server will not jive - default MTU setting on computers will vary depending on operating system, network card type, etc and what it should be set to will vary depending on the particular setup of the network you're trying to solve the problem for. The first time I ran into this problem I had a win98, winxp and win2k machine connecting to the internet through the win2k machine which was set up for Internet Connection Sharing (ICS). Problem I was having was I could access a particular websites from one computer but not others and some websites had no problems at all; on those "other computers" I had the same problem just with different websites - did not seem like there was any rhyme or reason to the problem and search efforts proved to be a lot less fruitful than most search efforts for other problems. Eventually ran into Max MTU setting issues while searching for problems dealing with ICS. ICS is in effect a 'software proxy' - future occurences of the problem on different network setups allowed my to learn that the problem was not limited to just ICS or 'software proxies' but 'hardware proxies' as well. Got more to say but I need to get back to work and stop the rambling thought process here - hope this helps someone solve their problem at some point in time.

    -Ken


    Quote Originally Posted by Android
    I was running into speed problems at work (intranet OK, internet VERY slow) and did some troubleshooting on my own before calling IT (deleted History, cookies, *.tmp files) and nothing changed. I started changing proxie servers (I have a choice of something like 8 proxie servers to chose from). When I changed to the fifth different proxy server everything started working OK. Strange thing is, now I can get to . http://www.northcott.net with no TCP_IP errors.
    I don't know if it's related to my work computer problems, or major coincidence that changing proxy servers can make a difference in internet website access, or Northcott found a problem at their end and solved it.

    Problem's solved from work. Now I gotta see what the problem is on my home 'puters.

  13. #13
    Android's Avatar

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I AM CANADIAN
    Posts
    440

    Talking It was fixed last week.....

    This thread is 14 months old.....This is cool.
    After 'tracerting' and 'pinging' their site for awhile from different locations and machines, and my ISP doing the same thing and forwarding their results to me, we determined that the problem was in the incumbent phone company's network. Apparently, it seems that nobody who used our ISP could possibly go to their site. I forwarded all the info to somebody there (they don't have onsite IT). And a week ago it started to work for us! I've yet to get a thanks from them. Oh, well....



Tags for this Thread