37 users online (0 members and 37 guests)  


  Results 1 to 10 of 10

Related

  1. FormMail.pl    Forum: CGI Perl Forum
    Replies: 4
  2. FormMail Help    Forum: CGI Perl Forum
    Replies: 15
  3. formmail.asp giving error in Mozilla    Forum: ASP Forum
    Replies: 5
  4. Replies: 0
  5. Error MySQL Error: 1064 - subqueries    Forum: PHP Forum
    Replies: 0
  1. #1
    Deedee's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    17

    ASP FormMail error

    Hi, I hope someone can help me. I posted a feedback form on our site and used ASPMail. When I set the form results (e-mail) to come to me while I tested, it worked fine. Since I've changed the url's and e-mail recipients so my company would get it, I get the following error: "Email send failed: [10053] Software caused connection abort. "

    Anyone know what that means? Is it something I changed?

    FYI: I am working on it at home and I have a cable connection.

    I'd deeply appreciate any help with this.

    TIA,
    Deedee

  2. #2
    wsp42005's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    58

    i think

    i think you company might have a firewall or spam blocker because at school that same problem was occuring untill finally i made them remove the spam blocker what u need to find out is if you company has a spam blocker and what it is blocking i think that miht be your problem but once again i am a little newb i hope dave or dean could clear it up a little better thats just something i think could be ur problem

  3. #3
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Thats a good suggestion, wsp42005. Worth checking.

    As well, we could do with seeing your config for ASPMail. Also, I know it sound silly, but if you change it back does it work again? the reason for this is sometimes a typo or misunderstood config variable will cause a non-descript failure like this, so may be worth double-checking.

    Otherwise, would like to see the 'before & after' config if possible.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  4. #4
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    I agree, it sounds like a firewall or proxy issue.

    dave
    AHFBWEB Less customers per server, more power for you!

    Business Class Shared Hosting

  5. #5
    Deedee's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    17
    You may be right about the proxy or firewall issue. I'll have to check tomorrow when I get back to work.

    Meanwhile, here is what works and what doesn't......

    WORKS:
    referers = Array("www.psijobs.com", "psijobs.com", "www.cox.com", "www.cox.net")
    mailComp = "ASPMail"
    smtpServer = "smtp.central.cox.net"
    fromAddr = "diane.r@cox.net"

    DOESN'T WORK:

    referers = Array("www.psijobs.com", "psijobs.com", "www.cox.com", "www.cox.net")
    mailComp = "ASPMail"
    smtpServer = "smtp.psijobs.com"
    fromAddr = "contact@psijobs.com"

    Thanks for your help,
    D.

  6. #6
    wsp42005's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    58

    just looking

    just from looking at it i think it might be a firewall or proxy as said above but not positive or you might not have youe pop and smtp mailbox setup right i am just throwing out some ideas that hopefully dean or dave could clear up

  7. #7
    Enigma's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    426
    From http://www.serverobjects.com/TechComm.htm :

    Known causes are:
    1. Loss of connection to the remote socket
    A connection can reset due to a timeout or a reboot of the remote system.
    2. A duplicate IP address on your network
    3. A misconfigured firewall or proxy server
    A firewall or proxy server may block the connection.
    4. Lost of packets or an aborted transfer
    If the remote server stops responding, or if too many packets are dropped, or if the remote system aborts a transfer, it can cause a 10054 error.

  8. #8
    Deedee's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    17
    Thanks to all of you for your help. I am checking out all of the above. I still have to call Cox to see what's up.

    Have a great day!
    D.

  9. #9
    Deedee's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    17
    Hi,
    Just FYI. Problem was fixed just by replacing the www address with the actual IP address (numbers). Yahooee!

    Thanks again for all your help.

    D.

  10. #10
    Enigma's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    426
    Good to know that it's working for you now and thanks for posting the solution. That helps others who might find this thread with the same problem.



Tags for this Thread