45 users online (0 members and 45 guests)  

Thread: paragraphs

New User

Status

Angry paragraphs

I don't know how to ask this question, but I'll try to explain.

I'm trying to create a fanfiction archive, but I don't know how to get the stories I want from where they currently reside besides by copy and paste.

It dosn't seem resonable to go over all of the stories typing <p> and </p> where paragraphs start and end, when the paragraphs are already formed to begin with.

Can anyone help me? I'm sorry if this is a stupid question, but I'm new to html. I hope anybody who is reading this understands what I'm trying to say.

Administrator

Status
    Hiya, welcome to the forums.

In this instance, you might be better off using a (good) WYSIWYG Editor, if only for the fact that when you paste your content in, it will probably be formatted for you.

This is the only situation where I would recommend an editor of this sort
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

New User

Status

k

K, thanks for the tip I think I'll do that...

Status
    If the file is a formatted text file, merely upload it as (name).txt and open it with your browser. If that doesn't work, surround the formatted "meat" (text) of the file with:

<HTML><HEAD><TITLE>(name of contents)</TITLE></HEAD>
    <BODY><PRE>

(place meat of file here)

</PRE></BODY></HTML>

until you learn more about <P> and <BR> and all the other HTML tags. That's how I started some of those pages 1030 web pages ago.

New User

Status

thanks

thanks a lot! I'm just biginning to realize how much there is to html that I don't know.

Super Newbie

Status
    <pre> tags are used to show the text as they are typed out in the source code. that way u only have to copy and paste once

now's a good time to go learn about the other tags

New User

Status