49 users online (1 members and 48 guests)  

Thread: Form help.


  Results 1 to 9 of 9

Related

  1. Replies: 1
  2. Replies: 4
  3. Replies: 1
  4. Form Handling Script for 'Tell A Friend' Form    Forum: Javascript Forum
    Replies: 1
  5. Replies: 3
  1. #1
    Coop's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    22

    Form help.

    Hi guys I'm new to this forum, it's good. Anyway I am not new to HTML but I am to forms. What I want is a form that will do two things... I need this to happen... I need after they make their choices on parts (this is for custom computers) for when they hit Buy Now! I wantan e-mail to be sent to me with their choices and the price. The second thing I want to happen is them to go to a buy page from paypal so the submit button is actually a buy button from paypal. One last thing is I want the price to go up when they pick a part..or down I want the price to acually changeat the bottom. Help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Hiya, welcome to the forums.

    For the prices to change when people choose different items, you will need to use JavaScript, good intro here - http://www.w3schools.org/js

    For the email form you can use any server-side langauge to send the email to yourself. I recommend PHP as its the easiest to learn and opensource. Learn more about PHP here - http://www.php.net/

    What your planning is a reasonably ambitious project, best to give yourself a good grounding in the above disciplines before getting going.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  3. #3
    Coop's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    22

    More help

    Ok the on thing is though that with a paypal button it is one set price. How can I get the button or what they pay to change with what they pick?

  4. #4
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    The paypal button is basically a form.

    this input device sets the price -

    Code:
    <input type="hidden" name="amount" value="12.99">
    You can change the value here dynamically using JavaScript, or write it out using PHP (recommended), so the above links apply.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  5. #5
    Coop's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    22

    Hmm

    I don't quite get that could you please elaborate? Well acually is that supposed to be the item they pick then with all the added things it dispays them all added up at the botttom?
    Last edited by Coop; 09-27-2003 at 02:46 PM.

  6. #6
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Well, using php you can track what they wish to purchase, and add it all up. Once thats added up, php can actually write the correct html for the total price.

    that way, the button always has the correct value.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  7. #7
    Coop's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    22

    Ok. I think,

    One last thing can I have text at the bottom that changes so they know the price? Also do you have some samplecode that would make one radio button to do these things pleasE?

  8. #8
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Yes, you can have text that changes / displays the total so far. Easily done with php or js.

    I do not know any sample code, but have a look at www.hotscripts.com
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  9. #9
    Coop~'s Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    6
    wow thats weird. when i registered i tried to get the name coop. i needed to ask a Q about forms.. and here i find Coop asking a similar question as me. i though it coulda been me a while ago that i forgot about. good times..



Tags for this Thread