37 users online (1 members and 36 guests)  

Thread: Mailto: Submit


  Results 1 to 12 of 12

Related

  1. mailto: Script    Forum: Website Scripts Forum
    Replies: 2
  2. links and mailto    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 2
  3. help on mailto forms    Forum: Website Scripts Forum
    Replies: 0
  4. mailto subject    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 6
  5. mailto: link    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 6
  1. #1
    Coop's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    22

    Mailto: Submit

    I'm having trouble with a mailto:submit button. Is there a way so it doesn't ask them to use their mail service to send it? If not how do I send it "somewhere" on geocities The cgi-bin maybe? Anyway how do I see it?

  2. #2
    coreybryant's Avatar
    Texan at Heart

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Castle Rock, CO
    Posts
    107
    If you are using the simple HTML command - the answer is no. You will need to use some type of server side language. Check on geocities support website to see what they say about forms. They might provide a free CGI script to use on their servers.

  3. #3
    Coop's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    22

    Hmm

    Well how could I use PHP to do it?

  4. #4
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Does Geocities support PHP? I didn't think they did.

    I do know that the support website is pretty good, you shuld have a look as advised by coreybryant
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  5. #5
    Coop's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    22

    Php

    Yes they allow it and what do you mean by the support website?

  6. #6
    coreybryant's Avatar
    Texan at Heart

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Castle Rock, CO
    Posts
    107
    Quote Originally Posted by Coop
    Well how could I use PHP to do it?
    Check out: http://www.scripts24.com/freeware/24mail.php

    Or for some other PHP email scripts: http://www.scriptsearch.com/PHP/Scripts_and_Programs/Form_Processing/

  7. #7
    coreybryant's Avatar
    Texan at Heart

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Castle Rock, CO
    Posts
    107
    That * (splat) is supposed to be an f. I highlighted, copy, & pasted it, so I know I added the 6th letter of the alphabet & once again - the letter f. Something must be changing that letter. Or maybe just I cannot type the word free?

    Learning something new everyday LOL

  8. #8
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    Quote Originally Posted by coreybryant
    That * (splat) is supposed to be an f. I highlighted, copy, & pasted it, so I know I added the 6th letter of the alphabet & once again - the letter f. Something must be changing that letter. Or maybe just I cannot type the word *ree?

    Learning something new everyday LOL
    Google allows advertisers to choose "negative" keywords, words that when on a page they can disallow advertisements. Free is on most peoples lists, which affects myself as well as the user. I get no return for ads shown, and the user misses out on relevant links.

    Dave

  9. #9
    coreybryant's Avatar
    Texan at Heart

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Castle Rock, CO
    Posts
    107
    No worries - I totally understand. It just took me a minute - I know my typing is bad but I did not think it was that bad!

  10. #10
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    beats the hell out of popups

  11. #11
    MiKeY251680's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    8
    No geocities doesnt support php

  12. #12
    MiKeY251680's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by MiKeY251680
    No geocities doesnt support php
    Oh yeah and you might want to use the Page Builder and make a page with the submit button. then open it in the advanced editor and take the code and add it to your other page. i have done it before



Tags for this Thread