92 users online (0 members and 92 guests)  

Related

1. Local applications    Forum: CGI Perl Forum
    Replies: 1
  2. Replies: 0
  3. Replies: 2
  4. Website & Web Applications for sale    Forum: Websites For Sale
    Replies: 0
    New User

Status

Need help tieing several applications together

Hello All. I am just learning PHP and I have a question for you.

I am building a large site that will be running PHPnuke, osCommerce, PHPmychat, Netclassifieds, Photopost PHP, and either vbulletin or phpbb.

I want my site members to only have to register a username and password once for all the basic features so that they dont need to register their information 6 different times in order to access all areas of the site. Can this be done? If so, can you give me some ideas on how to do it? Thanks.

Administrator

Status

Re: Need help tieing several applications together

Hi there,

In a nutshell, most of those systems use a database authentification system. The trick will be to modify each script so that they all use the same database info and authorisation system. Its a big job.. so good luck.

If you use phpBB, there is a HUGE mod-author network there, some of the woprk may have been done already, so have a look at www.phpbb.com
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

New User

Status

Quote Originally Posted by QuietDean
    Hi there,

In a nutshell, most of those systems use a database authentification system. The trick will be to modify each script so that they all use the same database info and authorisation system. Its a big job.. so good luck.

If you use phpBB, there is a HUGE mod-author network there, some of the woprk may have been done already, so have a look at www.phpbb.com