65 users online (1 members and 64 guests)  


  Results 1 to 14 of 14

Related

  1. Replies: 15
  2. add "human input" code to existing script    Forum: CGI Perl Forum
    Replies: 0
  3. Perl commands in an input file to cgi script    Forum: CGI Perl Forum
    Replies: 0
  1. #1
    BlindDude's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    17

    Help with input script

    I have a video game website I made,, on this site there is a link for a program that we use to communicate with each other called TeamSpeak.
    if you have the program TeamSpeak, when you click this link it takes you to our TeamSpeak server and connects you as "guest". Then you have to register with the server and pick a password,, but then the next time the user clicks the TeamSpeak link on our site it logs them in as "guest" again.
    Now there is a way to set up the link where I can join it with my username and password in the link but I manually had to edit the shortcut I made.
    What I want to do is have the link to our TeamSpeak channel pop up 3 boxes, asking for "nickname", "loginname", and "password" then when they fill in their info it creates the link with their input.
    I have searched and searched and cant find a script that I can edit to make it work.. I AM A NEWB! But I know it needs to be done with javascript.
    Here is what the link looks like and in caps is what the input boxes need to fill in. (the question marks need to be there)

    teamspeak://serveraddresshere/nickname=NICKNAME?loginname=LOGINNAME?password=PASSWORD?

    Can someone please tell me what I am trying to do is called?.. So I can search better for it,, I've tried searching thru *ree script sites for password, input, poppup, multiple poppup link... Jeez. Thats why I came here.
    Thanks for your input.

    edit - cant say *ree in here? * R E E

    (Admin: please dont try to get around things just for the sake of it)
    Last edited by QuietDean; 10-27-2003 at 03:47 AM.

  2. #2
    Derek's Avatar
    Be Yourself

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    St. George, Utah, USA
    Posts
    466
    Hi ya!

    What serverside language does your server allow you to use? (ex PHP, ASP, Perl)

    If this is a password validation issue it would be much better to use this road, for Javascript can be fooled and foiled. Serverside will better protect passwords and stop anyone from cheating through passwords. Depending on what your server allows you to use, I'm positive there are hundrends or more scripts that deal with password validation. Instead of your linking popping up a password, name, and nickname, have the link lead to a page that has those three items in a single form. After the form is completed, you can then pop-up your Teamspeak channel. You'll better be able to find scripts to suit your needs with this kind of set-up. If you insist on the pop-up's, keep them all on one pop-up.

  3. #3
    BlindDude's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    17
    It supports PHP and ASP, dont know about perl,, but all I have ever used is HTML,, this is not a security issue, just more handy for those who are already registered with the TeamSpeak server.
    what would I look for?
    Thanks

  4. #4
    Derek's Avatar
    Be Yourself

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    St. George, Utah, USA
    Posts
    466
    Security is important, and something that should not be overlooked even though it's only for logging in, whats the point if someone can just fool it and not register at all? Most wouldn't bother with it anyway, but it should be there just in case. But what I told you earlier is, find a password validation script (one that's userfriendly so you can understand), also one that used MySQL (database) would be best. Kinda mold it to fit your needs and then post it here, and I'll see if I can help ya with the finishing touches. I don't wanna take the time to write the whole password script along with everything else lol.

  5. #5
    BlindDude's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    17
    One thing I do know is that my server does not support MySQL,, We were going to run a game stat program and could not do it because of this.
    I think you are not seeing the simplicity in this, lol.
    the box(s) only need to create the end link, like above. No security is invovled,, our TeamSpeak server is monitored 24/7 we have members all across the world that have admin rights and can punt/ban anyone that does not follow the rules.
    There is nothing to hack or steal on the pc that runs TeamSpeak, just a game.
    I really appreciate your interest and help, I will look for password validation scripts,, but I been there before, lol Can I pay someone to make this? Im sure I could figure it out eventually vut I have 2 children, 1 of which has down syndrome, and dont have time outside of them and keeping 'in key' at the game. Its very competitive.
    Anyway If I find something that I think will work, I'll let you know.
    Thanks again.
    Jeremy

  6. #6
    BlindDude's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    17
    Here is a script that I messes around with, but I know nothing about coding.
    I see that is says "if (password) { this.location.href = password + ".html"; }}"
    If this could be made to have three entry spaces and place the input in the right spot in the link, it would work. This look possible?

    <script language="JavaScript"><!--

    function GateKeeper() {
    var password = prompt("Pleas Enter the Password:", "");
    if (password) { this.location.href = password + ".html"; }}

    //--></script>
    </head>

    <body bgcolor="#373737" text="#FFFFFF" link="#FFFFFF" vlink="#FFFFFF" alink="#FFFFFF">

    <div align="center">
    <p>&nbsp;</p>
    <p>&nbsp;</p>
    <p>&nbsp;</p>
    <p>&nbsp;</p>
    <p><br>
    <a HREF="javascript:{;}" onClick="GateKeeper(); return false">
    <img src="http://www.deltaforcers.com/Images/logoT.gif" width="250" height="250" border="0"></a>
    </p>
    <noscript>
    <font COLOR="#FF0000"><br>

    Javascript is required to access this area. Yours seems to be disabled.</font></noscript>

  7. #7
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    You could do what you wish (basically building a url from the inputs on a form) fine, and pretty securely I would say, as the password will not be embedded in the webpage at all.

    Your nearly there with your example above, I will post some code when I get home from work
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  8. #8
    BlindDude's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    17
    Thanks M8

  9. #9
    Derek's Avatar
    Be Yourself

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    St. George, Utah, USA
    Posts
    466
    *slap*

    ha i wasn't worried about security, just you said there's a login name, password, nickname, so I figured you'd go back and run a check to make sure all the infos right through some sort of a database. In otherwords just a simple check to make sure the password/name are right BEFORE even entering your teamspeak game. And since it would only take a few lines of code to do what you ask with PHP and MySQL (which now I know you don't have), which I myself consider easier than many javascripts, that's how I would use it. I didn't figure you had been there before because of this. But it was a misunderstanding on my part, ha or just a lack of knowledge on your situation. But anyways I'll let Quietdean play things out.

    Hope everything works out,

    Derek

  10. #10
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    sorry Derek, didn't mean to butt in
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  11. #11
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Right, this does it -

    HTML Code:
    <form name="testform">
    <input type="text" name="NICKNAME"> NICKNAME
    <br />
    <input type="text" name="LOGINNAME"> LOGINNAME
    <br />
    <input type="text" name="PASSWORD"> PASSWORD
    <br />
    <input type="button" value="Go" onClick="location.href='teamspeak://serveraddresshere/nickname=' + testform.NICKNAME.value + '?loginname=' + testform.LOGINNAME.value + '?password=' + testform.PASSWORD.value;">
    </form>
    When you press the button, it takes the contents of each form field and conactenates them into a single string, then send you there.

    The only bit I am unsure of is the use of ? symbol throughout. I dont know how teamspeak works, but with most urls you would have

    ?variable1=badger&variable2=stoat

    using only ? for the first variable. However, teamspeak may work differently so only try that if it does not work.

    Enjoy
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  12. #12
    BlindDude's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Derek
    *slap*
    But it was a misunderstanding on my part, ha or just a lack of knowledge on your situation. But anyways I'll let Quietdean play things out.

    Hope everything works out,

    Derek
    Most definitaly a lack of knowledge on my part,, I dont even know proper terms,, input, popup, box duh..
    Thanks Derek.

    Dean,
    I haveny tried the script yet but it sure looks good,, I have to wait for the kids to go to bed,, I just got off work,,
    I will let you know tonight

    THANKS AGAIN

  13. #13
    BlindDude's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    17
    The form works PERFECTLY! Thanks for the help.

  14. #14
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Rah glad its working
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?



Tags for this Thread