39 users online (0 members and 39 guests)  

Thread: AOL lookalike


  Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Glenvern's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, UK.
    Posts
    112

    AOL lookalike

    I need to have my webpage seen and heard on AOL -
    Is AOL based on Netscape.? Or some other Browser.?

    Only it seems to respond to <embed> but not to <bgsound>..

    I dont have AOL to check out my pages, but I do have IE and NS..

    thanx..
    Last edited by Glenvern; 12-05-2003 at 12:01 PM.
    Glenvern

  2. #2
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Hi,

    AOL Browser is a heavily modified version of Internet Explorer. Though I have heard plans of a switch to Netscape (Gecko Engine)
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  3. #3
    Glenvern's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, UK.
    Posts
    112

    AOL Lookalike

    Thanx Dean

    I can understand why <bgsound> wont play in Netscape, its not designed to..

    But I cant get <embed> to work either it just tells me to "Click here to get the plugin", I have Quicktime, Real Player and W.Media Player all have been set to default at one time or another, all failed to play an <embed> midi file in NS.

    Got any suggestions?
    Glenvern

  4. #4
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    could we see your code?
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  5. #5
    Glenvern's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, UK.
    Posts
    112
    Heres the code

    <embed src="tbells.mid" autostart="false" volume="50" width="50" height="26"></embed>

    I have tried it also with the positioning code (which is what I need if I am to use it)..

    <DIV style="position: absolute; top:74%; left:20%; width:100%; height=30%"><embed src="tbells.mid" autostart="false" volume="50" width="50" height="26"></embed></div>

    As a point of interest the version of NS is 7.1 (incase this makes a difference).
    Last edited by Glenvern; 12-06-2003 at 03:47 AM.
    Glenvern



Tags for this Thread