38 users online (1 members and 37 guests)  


  Results 1 to 12 of 12

Related

  1. Linking iframes in different page?    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 1
  2. problem with linking a page    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 5
  3. Linking within a page    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 8
  4. Replies: 1
  1. #1
    jackkane's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bo'ness
    Posts
    28

    Linking to areas on a web page

    Hey you guys,

    Just found this superb site, and here's my first help post.

    I have used a front page template to create my site and have created a news page. This page is getting kinda long now so, what I would like to do is have my headline links take me straight to the correct topic in the news page. i.e. if I click on a topic from 3 days ago that is a third of the way down the page, can I have the link take me directly to this part of the page?

    I really hope this makes sense

    Another question is:

    I have purchased my domain name which is fine, but when I say click on the news page in my site, the address bar still shows up as the original domain name. i.e.

    www.healthandsafetytips.co.uk

    and not....

    www.healthandsafetytips.co.uk/news.htm

    Where am I goin wrong?

    I'd like to be able to copy paste the address of the news page instead of just the main address all the time.

    sorry its a bit long, but any help would be fantastic.

  2. #2
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Hi jack,

    Yes, it can be done. You create an 'anchor' like this -

    Code:
    <a name="#bottom"></a>
    then link to it like this =
    Code:
    <a href="#bottom">bottom</a>
    You can change #bottom to whatever you like, and use as many as you wish on a page.

    Your second query. The problem is that your domain is a masked redirect. You website is actually on blueyonder (I think iot was) so unless you gett he domain hosted as part of a hosting package, it will never do what you want.

    You might be able to transfer the domain to your current host, check their support pages.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  3. #3
    jackkane's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bo'ness
    Posts
    28
    Thanks QuietDean,

    That kinda makes sense, but lol.......

    eh

    Right........

    This is the link on my home page for a news headline, which in turn links to the news page:

    <a title="Andy Love MP Takes on Offences Bill" href="News.htm">
    Andy Love MP Takes on Offences Bill</a>


    I understand I can put the "anchor" anywhere on the news page, but how do I incorporate the anchor link into my link above?

    I have tried a few things, but I seem to be making my page look like a shredded piece of paper!

    Please forgive me if this is obvious to most.

    As for the domain name, yes you are right, I will check the support pages for a transfer.

    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Ah, you can add the anchor onto tyhe end -

    <a title="Andy Love MP Takes on Offences Bill" href="News.htm#bottom">
    Andy Love MP Takes on Offences Bill</a>


    Like that. Hope that helps.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  5. #5
    jackkane's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bo'ness
    Posts
    28
    It has helped a bit, but it doesnt work. what i mean is, i have created an anchor in the news page, but the link you helped with just takes me to the news page as normal, just at the top. i even created the anchor right at the bottom of the news page, but still the same.

    i think im just missing something.

  6. #6
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Only one way I can help with that... could you post a link to your code so I can have a look?
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  7. #7
    jackkane's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bo'ness
    Posts
    28
    do u mean a link to the website?

    www.healthandsafetytips.co.uk

    i have undone all my changes until i figure out how to do it properly. the anchor has been taken out.

    sorry if im being stoopid about all this.

  8. #8
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Duh Im not awake. Of course you gave it earlier, my apologies.

    Are thw anchors in place on here? Maybe a test 'copy' of the two pages so we can look at it together.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  9. #9
    jackkane's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bo'ness
    Posts
    28
    Ok,

    Now what I have is that it works!!! Wohoooooo

    But, I tried instead of using the word "bottom" for the anchor word, I tried to tie it in with the headline for my ease of use. I used the word "andy" for the anchor and replaced "bottom" with andy in both pages. It doesn't work with "andy". Are there specific words I need to use, i.e. top, middle, bottom?

    It's quite simple once you know how really, thank you.

  10. #10
    jackkane's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bo'ness
    Posts
    28
    I take it all back, now I am being stoopid. It works just fine with anything as long as I don't create a typo!!

  11. #11
    JackKing's Avatar
    Junior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    35

    Anchors

    Dean,
    This is one thing I have always had problems with!

    At: www.****************.com, How can I direct the following line:
    <TD><center>
    <A HREF="http://www.****************.com/Hobart.html">
    <IMG SRC="Hobartb.Jpg" border=0 HEIGHT=75 WIDTH=175 Alt="HOBART"></center>
    <BR></td><td width=40></td></TR>

    To:<td valign="Middle" align="Middle">
    <A Href="http://www.****************.com/UnderC.jpg">
    <IMG SRC="UnderC.Jpg" border=0 HEIGHT=200 WIDTH=225<IMG src="mouseoveroff.gif"name="button1" border=5 HEIGHT=350 WIDTH=280
    style="border: 3px solid black;"
    onmouseover="this.style.borderColor='RED';"
    onmouseout="this.style.borderColor='BLUE';" alt= "Undercounter Dishwasher"></A>, Which is located at: www.****************.com/Hobart.Html

    Thanks,
    Jack
    Last edited by HTML; 05-05-2004 at 06:25 PM. Reason: link removed due to unethical practices

  12. #12
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Amend

    Code:
    <td valign="Middle" align="Middle"> 
    <A Href="http://www.***************.com/UnderC.jpg">
    <IMG SRC="UnderC.Jpg" border=0 HEIGHT=200 WIDTH=225<IMG src="mouseoveroff.gif"name="button1" border=5 HEIGHT=350 WIDTH=280 
    style="border: 3px solid black;" 
    onmouseover="this.style.borderColor='RED';"
    onmouseout="this.style.borderColor='BLUE';" alt= "Undercounter Dishwasher"></A>
    to be
    Code:
    :<td valign="Middle" align="Middle"> <a name="#target"></a>
    <A Href="http://www.****************.com/UnderC.jpg">
    <IMG SRC="UnderC.Jpg" border=0 HEIGHT=200 WIDTH=225<IMG src="mouseoveroff.gif"name="button1" border=5 HEIGHT=350 WIDTH=280 
    style="border: 3px solid black;" 
    onmouseover="this.style.borderColor='RED';"
    onmouseout="this.style.borderColor='BLUE';" alt= "Undercounter Dishwasher"></A>
    Then link to
    www.****************.com/Hobart.Html#target
    Should work
    Last edited by HTML; 05-05-2004 at 06:26 PM.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?



Tags for this Thread