67 users online (0 members and 67 guests)  


Page 3 of 4 First 1 2 3 4 Last
  Results 31 to 45 of 49

Related

  1. Need help on Apache Installation Please    Forum: PHP Forum
    Replies: 2
  2. skins/templete installation prob.    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 2
  3. Replies: 0
  1. #31
    Derek's Avatar
    Be Yourself

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    St. George, Utah, USA
    Posts
    466

    it's cool

    I put it where you said before you posted Dean, but it's cool. I can't seam to figure it out. I mean apache says php is running and mysql is goin and everything.

  2. #32
    Zaire's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Hamburg, NY
    Posts
    312
    If you isntalled foxserv, there should be no c:\php\www\...

    Everything should be in c:\apache\htdocs

    Make a script called hello.php in side c:\apache\htdocs

    inside it, write
    <?
    $hi = "Hello World";
    echo "$hi";
    ?>
    Then go to http://localhost\hello.php

    You should see Hello World on your screen.

    If this works, php is working FINE.

    -Eric

  3. #33
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Z is correct. I was guessing because you mentioned c:\php, but as luck would have it c:\apache is the same as I got.


    c:\apache\htdocs is http://localhost

    So, like Z says, localhost/hello.php shows the echo, then jobs good 'un!

    If it's still not working, why don't you post your process in detail? Z is a php whiz ( I have seen his site(s) ) so if he gets some detail I am certain he can solve your problem.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  4. #34
    Zaire's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Hamburg, NY
    Posts
    312
    Originally posted by QuietDean
    Z is a php whiz ( I have seen his site(s) ) so if he gets some detail I am certain he can solve your problem.
    Im not a php whiz.. im a php newbie with extended knowledge

    Thanks Dean....


    -Eric

  5. #35
    Derek's Avatar
    Be Yourself

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    St. George, Utah, USA
    Posts
    466

    ok

    I'm going to go through my whole install process and you find my fault. Keep in mind that the icon and opening process of the php is already done. With that in mind, here we go:

    I went to foxserve and downloaded foxserve of course. I ran the install program and it comes up with a thing asking where I want it to install it too, and it's default name is "c:\foxserve", I do that, then configure it, install it, mysql works, apache works and inside the dos program thing it says php 4.0.5 is running. Mysql has the green light so that is all go. I don't know what c:\apache\htdocs is, cause I can't find that. In the Foxserve folder there is a folder for php, apache, and mysql, and www. Now, that is as much detail as I can come up with without being asked specific questions, so tell me what I'm doing wrong.

  6. #36
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    I have not got foxserv, but I could certainly do with the following info to have a chance

    You had a test page? Can I have -

    The url of the test page (prob http://localhost )

    the path to the test page (c:\foxserv whatever)


    once you have them, could we also have -

    the path to your 'hello.php' page (c:\whatever)

    the url you are typing in to see the 'hello.php' page (whatever is in the address bar when you view it)

    Phew.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  7. #37
    Derek's Avatar
    Be Yourself

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    St. George, Utah, USA
    Posts
    466

    it's done!

    My problem was the way I just told u how I did it, I just BARELY did that, before I installed it into a folder called php in program files, and it wouldn't work. I reinstalled it after deleting everything in the foxserve folder, went to localhost/hello.php, and it works! I tried both those scripts adn tehy work! I could CRY, haha, thanks guys for sticking with me, haha, now, to the dirty work...

  8. #38
    Zaire's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Hamburg, NY
    Posts
    312
    Ohh sorry.. change c:\apache\htdocs to c:\foxserv\www

    I forgot i wasn't using my computer.. lol

  9. #39
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Hurrah for Derek!

    In my opinion, anyone who manages to get php working on a windoze machine deserves a frickin' medal!

    Huzzah!
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  10. #40
    Derek's Avatar
    Be Yourself

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    St. George, Utah, USA
    Posts
    466

    I agree

    I should get a medal...
    I hope this stays up for other poeple who want to install php to see, with all this crap of info they've gotten they shouldn't need to post another post on this topic! Haha, lataz.

  11. #41
    Derek's Avatar
    Be Yourself

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    St. George, Utah, USA
    Posts
    466

    php tutorials

    I've looked over a bunch of tutorials, but none of them explain in real english, haha, it's hard to understand them cause they think even though it's an intro tutorial you know about programming to begin with. Does anyone know of a PROVEN set of tutorials where I can really learn easier?

  12. #42
    Zaire's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Hamburg, NY
    Posts
    312
    If you mean on php, best bet is to buy a book, its the easiest way to learn...

    Actually.. php.net is the best.. read the menual and everthing..

    If you mean installing php, im going to write up 2 tutorials, one for windows, and one for linux.

    -Eric

  13. #43
    Derek's Avatar
    Be Yourself

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    St. George, Utah, USA
    Posts
    466

    downloading

    I hope the manuals explain well, haha.

  14. #44
    teddybear's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6

    Re: PHP Installation

    Hi, I have installed IIS5.1, then PHP5, also I installed Apache.
    I tested both IIS and Apache, they can display my HTML script. But they could not display my PHP script.
    I try to debug, but it is very frustrating, I could not find what's wrong? Here is what I have done:
    - in PHP.ini, I change the cgi.force_redirect = Off
    - put C:\PHP into the PATH environment
    - create the .php extension
    What else that I miss so far, that my PHP script is not parsed?
    Please help me give your suggestions.
    Thanks!
    -Ted

  15. #45
    DeadMeatGF's Avatar
    Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    381

    Re: PHP Installation

    What method of install did you use for PHP-Windows?



Page 3 of 4 First 1 2 3 4 Last

Tags for this Thread