35 users online (0 members and 35 guests)  


  Results 1 to 6 of 6

Related

  1. Replies: 6
  2. Replies: 1
  3. Horizontal scroll bar fix    Forum: CSS Forum
    Replies: 0
  4. Horizontal scroll bar fix    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 0
  5. Replies: 6
  1. #1
    Oatis's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    4

    Horizontal scroll bar will not work in explorer

    Hi everyone,

    I cannont get the horizontal scroll bar to work in IE 5.2, but for some reason the vertical scroll bar on the same page works fine:

    http://sawhorserodeo.com/recentwork.html

    ....the html seems to work fine in safari and camino
    Last edited by Oatis; 06-03-2004 at 02:37 AM.

  2. #2
    Oatis's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    4
    anyone out there?

  3. #3
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Hiya,

    Might help to define a little better for the guys like me that dont use a mac.

    What does 'not work' mean? Its not there? It doesn't move?
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  4. #4
    Oatis's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    4
    hey dean,
    I mean there is a horizontal scroll bar at the bottom of the page that is not showing up at all in IE(but works in safari), but the same type of vertical scroll bar on the right of the page is showing up.

    source:
    <td height="70" align="left" valign="top" nowrap> <div style="margin:0px; margin-top:0px">
    <div class="smallfont"></div>
    <pre class="alt2" style="margin:0px; padding:0px; border:0px inset; width:351px; height:68px; overflow:auto"><img src="images/kareem_thumb.gif" width="70" height="55" onClick="MM_swapImage('main_image','','images/kareem.gif',1)">&nbsp;<img src="images/willie_thumb.gif" name="kareem" width="70" height="55" id="kareem" onClick="MM_swapImage('main_image','','images/willie.gif',1)"> <img src="images/playball_thumb.gif" width="70" height="55" onClick="MM_swapImage('main_image','','images/playball.gif',1)"> <img src="images/bert_thumb.gif" width="70" height="55" onClick="MM_swapImage('main_image','','images/bert.gif',1)"> <img src="images/liquidrider_thumb.gif" width="70" height="55" onClick="MM_swapImage('main_image','','images/liquidroper.gif',1)"> <img src="images/nancy_thumb.gif" width="70" height="55" onClick="MM_swapImage('main_image','','images/nancy.gif',1)"> <img src="images/f_thumb.gif" width="70" height="55" onClick="MM_swapImage('main_image','','images/f.gif',1)"> <img src="images/lostideasshirt_thumb.gif" width="70" height="55" onClick="MM_swapImage('main_image','','images/lostideasshirt.gif',1)"> </pre>
    </div></td>

  5. #5
    Oatis's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    4
    here is what i'm talking about:

    http://sawhorserodeo.com/images/safari.gif
    it looks fine in safari

    http://sawhorserodeo.com/images/ie.gif
    this is what it looks like in explorer, notice the scroll bar and the images are missing at the bottom.
    Last edited by HTML; 03-09-2012 at 10:20 AM.

  6. #6
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Ah, i see.

    I think we are focusing on the wrong problem. I suspect no scrollbar becuase the images are not there. So lets get the images showing.

    I have done some reading about mac IE 5.*. Whilst it has bugs, its also a LOT stricter than its flimsy windoze cousin. So to start with, I suggest -

    http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fsawhorserodeo.com%2Frecentwork.html - Check out the link, it shows the result of code validation. I notice a worrying "IMG tag not allowed here" which might be your problem. But it wouldn't hurt to tidy up a bit and get the code valid.

    Declare a DOCTYPE - IE 5.* Mac goes into 'quirks mode' without a valid DOCTYPE. Try adding one.

    Once we have this done, we should be in a much better position to see whats going on.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?



Tags for this Thread