42 users online (1 members and 41 guests)  


  Results 1 to 9 of 9

Related

  1. links to html pages do not work    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 1
  2. Dynamically Generating    Forum: Javascript Forum
    Replies: 3
  3. Dynamically Generating    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 0
  4. Creating Pages in HTML    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 1
  5. CGI only accessed by certain HTML pages??    Forum: CGI Perl Forum
    Replies: 1
  1. #1
    Lori's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    5

    Question generating Html pages and HREF

    Hi,

    I am using perl to generate multiple html pages for a tutorial site.
    I am familiar with using the page links

    <A HREF="#PEWP">Physics Education Web Pages</A></P>
    <A NAME="PEWP">

    to direct someone to another part of the page they are on, but I am wondering if there is any way to do this automatically without the user needing to click on a link?

    Any Help would be appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Lori

  2. #2
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Hi Lori. Welcome to the forums

    As to your question, when you say 'automatically', I assume you either mean the page moves on its own (not recommended, highly annoying) or that some event kicks off the change. (like choosing from drop-down box, or hovering over a keyword).

    So.... would you mind giving us a few more details of what you are trying to achieve?


    Note - I'm in the uk, and I'm off to bed now, so you won't get an answer until the morning unless someone else in the forum answers. G'night!
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  3. #3
    Lori's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    5
    The page I am displaying has the detailed solution to a projectile motion problem. The user will see only a small portion of the page to start. As they click the 'enter' key, new information will be loaded onto the page. I need to keep all the previous information for the user to see, so the page generated is rather long. The problem is that each time the 'enter' button is pressed, the page is regenerated and you start at the top. It will be frustrating to scroll down to the new information over and over.
    I would like to generate the page with the new information visible when first loaded, and leave the option to scroll upward as the user needs to look back at previous parts of the problem.
    I hope this makes sense.
    -Lori

  4. #4
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662

    ahhh

    So the real problem is that you need to reload the page and then have the user at the relevant piec of information.

    'generation' is the keyword, do you use a succession of longer and longer pages, or do you have information being passed along the url so that a script generates the next page?
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  5. #5
    Lori's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    5
    Exactly.

    Information is passed so I can keep track of the user(student), so every page is generated using a perl script.


    -Lori

  6. #6
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Ahhh.

    So, how is the iformation passed on? Is it in a query string? If so, you can add the #name at the end and it should work fine.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  7. #7
    Lori's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    5
    I am using the POST method (& the 'CONTENT_LENGTH' variable). (Although my script is set up to handle both POST & GET)


    ---
    "If so, you can add the #name at the end and it should work fine. "
    ---

    At the end of ... ??


    -Lori

  8. #8
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662

    Sorry

    I'm having trouble talking today lol

    I was wondering if you passed the query along, therefore could put a #name at the end of your url. Like at the top of this page -

    That works fine. Could yours be adapted like this?
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  9. #9
    Lori's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    5
    Ahhh!! That does it!

    A simple solution I should have seen.

    Many thanks!!

    -Lori



Tags for this Thread