37 users online (0 members and 37 guests)  


  Results 1 to 11 of 11

Related

  1. Replies: 2
  2. <td> cells too big    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 2
  3. Exercise for your grey cells!    Forum: General Discussion
    Replies: 15
  4. Table cells    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 1
  1. #1
    Ania's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4

    gaps between cells

    I was wondering if anybody could help me with the gaps that appear in my page. http://cjnoll3116.home.att.net For couple days i have been trying to figure this out . what do i do wrong? can you corect my code? and could anybody explain me how you correct this ( what you consider , what i should be aware of, what you do when you see something like this on page - how do you know what to do " i know i know experience ) What i want to say - i just wnat to learn so i will not do the same mistake in the future.
    Thank you in advance.
    Last edited by HTML; 11-18-2004 at 09:16 PM. Reason: accident

  2. #2
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Hi, welcome.

    First thing is to make sure your <td> tags do not have line-breaks. For example

    This is wrong
    Code:
    <tr>
    <td>stuff stuff
    </td>
    <td>
    </td>
    </tr>
    Whilst this works great
    Code:
    <tr><td>stuff stuff</td><td></td></tr>
    Just do this for the cells displaying the gaps.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  3. #3
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    Also empty cells should have
    HTML Code:
    &nbsp;
    example
    HTML Code:
    <td>&nbsp;</td>

  4. #4
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    wups :P
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  5. #5
    Ania's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4
    Thank you so much - i have one more queston about cells- i divided cell in 3 raws and 6 columns (that how i sliced the logo image) - the question is when i built the table i built 3 raws 6 col and put the images into the cells - but it didnt work - than i looked into the code that photoshop made
    <td><img src="images/index_13.gif" width="125" height="43" alt=""></td>
    <td><img src="images/index_14.gif" width="125" height="43" alt=""></td>
    <td><img src="images/index_15.gif" width="125" height="43" alt=""></td>
    <td><img src="images/index_16.gif" width="125" height="43" alt=""></td>
    <td colspan="3"><img src="images/index_17.gif" width="125" height="43" alt=""></td>
    <td colspan="4"><img src="images/index_18.gif" width="125" height="43" alt=""></td>
    </tr>

    way at the end i have to have ( colspan) <td colspan="3"><img src="images/index_17.gif" width="125" height="43" alt=""></td>
    <td colspan="4"><img src="images/index_18.gif" width="125" height="43" alt=""></td>

    thats is in each raw. all the images have the same width.

    Sorry for stupid question- im just trying to understand.

    "all things are easy to understand once they are discovered the point is to discover them" Galileo

  6. #6
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    looks fine to me here

    Dave

  7. #7
    Ania's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4
    hey- i check it looks fine too ( thanks) but i was wondering why the photoshop generated colspans at the end ( in my understanding all the images have the same width and height) so why do we need the colspan?

  8. #8
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    Do ALL rows have the same number of TDs?

  9. #9
    Ania's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4
    Yes 6 columns and 3 rows and on each rows the 5th 6th columns has colspan- i just dont know why the colspan has to be there

  10. #10
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    I will try to look later, right now part of this site is down due to my trying to update things.

    Dave

  11. #11
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    To be honest I see no reason for so many cols or rows, to me there should be no more than 2 rows and 5 cols.

    Dave



Tags for this Thread