56 users online (1 members and 55 guests)  


  Results 1 to 9 of 9

Related

  1. Problem with frames    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 4
  2. Replies: 4
  3. PHP and Frames    Forum: PHP Forum
    Replies: 1
  4. Frames    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 1
  5. Frames?    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 2
  1. #1
    Litiumtomu's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    8

    Problem with frames

    Hi all.

    I'm pretty new with HTML and I'm having this annoying problem with frames in IE. Site works fine with Firefox.

    Check it out:
    http://personal.inet.fi/koti/litiumtomu/majavakauppa

    I know that I shouldn't use frames but I'm not familiar enough with CSS.

    Please help me.

  2. #2
    Litiumtomu's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    8
    I think that everyone around here noticed my problem? Yes, that's it - the "white stripe" that's is showing above the menu. Here's the code that I used in menu.

    <html>

    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
    <title></title>

    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE = "JavaScript">

    var browser;
    nimi = navigator.appName;
    versio = parseInt(navigator.appVersion);

    if ((nimi == "Netscape" && versio >= 3) || (nimi == "Microsoft Internet Explorer" && versio >= 4))browser=true;

    function paalla_1() {if (browser){document.nappi_1.src = "kuvat/0202b.gif";}}
    function pois_1() {if (browser){document.nappi_1.src = "kuvat/0202a.gif";}}

    function paalla_2() {if (browser){document.nappi_2.src = "kuvat/0204b.gif";}}
    function pois_2() {if (browser){document.nappi_2.src = "kuvat/0204a.gif";}}

    function paalla_3() {if (browser){document.nappi_3.src = "kuvat/0206b.gif";}}
    function pois_3() {if (browser){document.nappi_3.src = "kuvat/0206a.gif";}}

    function paalla_4() {if (browser){document.nappi_4.src = "kuvat/0208b.gif";}}
    function pois_4() {if (browser){document.nappi_4.src = "kuvat/0208a.gif";}}

    function paalla_5() {if (browser){document.nappi_5.src = "kuvat/0210b.gif";}}
    function pois_5() {if (browser){document.nappi_5.src = "kuvat/0210a.gif";}}

    </SCRIPT>

    </head>

    <body>

    <img border="0" src="kuvat/0201.gif" width="106" height="12"><a href="sivu1.htm" target="ruutu" onMouseOver="paalla_1(); return true;" onMouseOut="pois_1(); return true"><img border="0" src="kuvat/0202a.gif" width="44" height="12" name="nappi_1"></a><img border="0" src="kuvat/0200.gif" width="23" height="12"><a href="sivu2.htm" target="ruutu" onMouseOver="paalla_2(); return true;" onMouseOut="pois_2(); return true"><img border="0" src="kuvat/0204a.gif" width="53" height="12" name="nappi_2"></a><img border="0" src="kuvat/0200.gif" width="23" height="12"><a href="sivu3.htm" target="ruutu" onMouseOver="paalla_3(); return true;" onMouseOut="pois_3(); return true"><img border="0" src="kuvat/0206a.gif" width="52" height="12" name="nappi_3"></a><img border="0" src="kuvat/0200.gif" width="23" height="12"><a href="sivu4.htm" target="ruutu" onMouseOver="paalla_4(); return true;" onMouseOut="pois_4(); return true"><img border="0" src="kuvat/0208a.gif" width="86" height="12" name="nappi_4"></a><img border="0" src="kuvat/0200.gif" width="23" height="12"><a href="sivu5.htm" target="ruutu" onMouseOver="paalla_5(); return true;" onMouseOut="pois_5(); return true"><img border="0" src="kuvat/0210a.gif" width="81" height="12" name="nappi_5"></a><img border="0" src="kuvat/0211.gif" width="219" height="12">

    </body>

    </html>

  3. #3
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Hi, welcome to the forums.

    The source page ( http://personal.inet.fi/koti/litiumtomu/majavakauppa/valikko.htm ) for that frame, try adding

    Code:
    <style type="text/css">
    body {
    margin: 0px;
    padding: 0px;
    }
    </style>
    to the <head> of the document, and see if hat helps. Post back and let us know.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  4. #4
    Litiumtomu's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    8
    Hi, and thanks for the tip. Unfortunately that didn't work. I wonder where I have made a mistake..

    Well..anyway I zipped whole webpage if anyone is intrested to look the code. You could download it from http://personal.inet.fi/koti/litiumtomu/sivusto.zip if you're interested.

    In case you wonder the language - it's finnish

  5. #5
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Its the frame size thats doing it, I think. I can't be sure becuase there are SO MANY frames in there.

    I cannot see any need for frames in that site, never mind 9 of them. I would consider redoing the site in a single page without frames. If nothing else, it will improve: Accessability, Validation, Maintainability..and of course this problem would disappear.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  6. #6
    Litiumtomu's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    8
    I thought starting all over again too but my knowhow is what it is. I actually don't understand how I could make that "textscreen" -effect whitout frames. I also wonder how could I make the site look the way it looks now. Could it be done only with tables?

    *yawn*

    But if anyone have good tips or ideas I'm ready to listen. Now I'm going to sleep - It's 1.30 at night in Finland right now. Good night everyone. And big thanks to QuietDean. I check this thread first thing in the morning.

  7. #7
    Litiumtomu's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    8
    OK - I got the problem solved and website it's running perfectly. What did I do? I listened someone smarter than me There is no more frames. Working site could be found http://personal.inet.fi/koti/litiumtomu/majavakauppa for a while if you're interested. And please, tell your opinion also. Thanks.

  8. #8
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Looks great
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  9. #9
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    I checked it out in mozilla 1.7.2 and IE6 and they look perfect

    Dave



Tags for this Thread