57 users online (0 members and 57 guests)  

Thread: Password Check

Related

1. password protection    Forum: Javascript Forum
    Replies: 2
  2. Password Code    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 6
  3. Need help with a password html    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 5
  4. password protection?    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 9
  5. log in and password code    Forum: Website Scripts Forum
    Replies: 7
    New User

Status

Smile Password Check

Hey there! I'm new to these forums.
    I've been doing HTML since I was 10, but I always kept it simple and I'd like to go a bit further. I want to make a login page where the user enters his username and password, and my website should check the password if its correct (with an external javascript file). I know there is already a thread about this but I've never done javascript before and I need a little help. I have done Java before though so it shouldn't be too hard. Can you guys just tell me what to do? Thanks.

Administrator

Status
    Hiya, welcome to the forums.

Firstly, if you want to learn JavaScript, then these tutorials http://www.w3schools.org/js/default.asp can teach you far better than a forum can.

Once you have your "JavaScript Wings" you will have some more specific questions, your welcome to ask away and we should be able to answer you meaningfully.

One word of warning: A JavaScript password gate is not secure in any way! Anyone with the slightest JS experience could find your password and get in. if you want to make a secure password gateway, try learning a server-side language like PHP, ASP or Perl/CGI.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

New User

Status

Talking

I don't need an impossible-to-breach password gateway, nobody knows my site anyway and it's just a gateway to my MMORPG clan news