28 users online (1 members and 27 guests)  

Thread: two functions


  Results 1 to 7 of 7

Related

  1. I want my asp form to do 2 functions?    Forum: ASP Forum
    Replies: 2
  2. Replies: 2
  3. VBScript Functions    Forum: Website Scripts Forum
    Replies: 1
  4. Minimizing Rube Goldfarbian functions    Forum: Javascript Forum
    Replies: 3
  1. #1
    pegboy's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    76

    two functions

    hello,
    that's right, working on thanksgiving. that's dedication.

    anyway, i'm working on a new site that's pretty heavy with DHTML. right now i have text buttons that load in new layers that fade in and scroll. but i would also like the buttons to open a seperate page in an inline frame at the same time. is this possible without messing up my DHTML script? thanks!
    robert koons

  2. #2
    HTML's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    3,445

    Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel
    I am here to (try and) help you on thanksgiving, how is that for dedication j/k

    You probably know that I am the worst when it comes to iframes/layers, so I will leave this open to a member or guest with a little more knowledge in the area.

    I do want to let you know, or you may be well aware already, that using DHTML for a menu can have a serious negative affect in search engine traffic.

    Depending on your reliance on search engines you may want to consider a plan b. When a search engine such as google or the numerous other spiders visit your site they are unable to read the javascript or follow links that may be included in it, thus in effect disallowing it from spidering anything more than your index file.

    Happy thanksgiving,

    Dave
    AHFBWEB Less customers per server, more power for you!

    Business Class Shared Hosting

  3. #3
    pegboy's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    76
    so am i to understand that no one knows how to achieve this effect? come on now, don't leave a brother hangin'.
    robert koons

  4. #4
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Cool. Should be okay. But to judge I need -

    Some sample code.

    Some info - whats your event handler?

    Cheers d00d,
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  5. #5
    Derek's Avatar
    Be Yourself

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    St. George, Utah, USA
    Posts
    466
    ...so that's what was missing...

  6. #6
    pegboy's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    76
    sorry, i guess that would help. the page is a bit to long to cut and past here, so i'll just give you a link to the page. http://www.tminusfive.com/thenewbeat.net/

    i don't have the inline frame in there yet, but it will be named "window" if i can get this to work.

    thanks again for the help.
    robert koons

  7. #7
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    eek. thats a lot of code. My eyes started to hurt after a while

    Without the whole shebang, it's hard to judge. However, at its simplest level, your even handlers are going to be the key thing here.

    For a start, function handling. Three ways -

    Include two functions in your event handler -

    Code:
    onClick="function1();function2();"
    Have different event handlers for each effect -

    Code:
    onclick="function1();" onMouseOver="function2();"
    Call one function from within another -

    Code:
    function function1() {
    function2();
    blah blah;
    }
    Without digging a lot deeper, hard to tell. its midnight here!

    So see if these help. It looks like your script uses onClick and onFocus, so it may work.

    Post if you have any problems.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?



Tags for this Thread