41 users online (1 members and 40 guests)  

Thread: Yahoo MSN SEO

Related

1. Yahoo groups, how?    Forum: Website Promotion Forum
    Replies: 3
  2. Yahoo or MSN?    Forum: General Discussion
    Replies: 3
  3. Question about Yahoo?    Forum: Email Spam
    Replies: 2
    New User

Status

Question Yahoo MSN SEO

with the growth of Yahoo and MSN - are you finding it important to get high rankings in both

Just one year ago - it seemed that Google was virtually everyting

Now - Yahoo and the New MSN are becoming more dominant than they were since the pre-Google days.

New User

Status
    Personally, I believe it's about content.. good content brings links. Links push you up in the SERP's.

I work as a.. ahem.. blantant ad.. programmer for hire (and minor SEO work). One of the sites I have done SEO work is a camcorder review site. The articles are updated/created 3 to 4 times a week. Of course, they also have a very heavily travelled forum (modified vBulletin to get rid of the querystrings.. including the session id much more SE friendly). The forum is great 'spider food'. The search engines love it. And their ranking proves it.. try 'camcorder reviews' on yahoo (#1), msn (#1,#2 and #3) or google (#1 and #2).. IT'S all about content, links and good page 'layout'.

But the key is to get LINKS. Content brings the links. All the major SE's now track how many links are coming into your site. Yes, they still look at content, but SE's have to put up with alot of spam (keyword stuffing, cloaking...). So, the major SE's (in my opinion) weigh links as more important then the content. They figure the person doing the 'linking' believes the site has good content.

To answer your question. I don't think you need to 'optimize' for all three (four/five?) major SE's. Just make a good page to begin, (b, i, h1,h2,h3 tags, title tags, yes even meta tags-- Yahoo say's they look at them) with good content. Get links.. All the engines will find you.

my 2 cents and then some...