32 users online (0 members and 32 guests)  

Related

1. Replies: 0
  2. Help w/ Search Script    Forum: CGI Perl Forum
    Replies: 0
  3. Hello, need help with a script I'm making    Forum: CGI Perl Forum
    Replies: 2
  4. SEARCH script not aligning in table correctly    Forum: Website Scripts Forum
    Replies: 4
  5. Making changes    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 6
    New User

Status

Need help making a search script

Hiya!

This is my first post on this site, and I wouldn't say I'm fairly new to Perl, just that I need a little help.

I've been asked by an owner of a record shop to design him a website with an online stock viewing facility. The type of site where people can search by their favourite artists / tracks to buy vinyl and cd's. Now as this is a small shop and he doesn't wish to go overkill on his first site, he understandably wants to keep the costs down. As the catalogue is no larger than 400 products, we have decided to go along the flat delimited ascii file database, and using Perl to add / modify / delete and search entries.

I have got the "add new record" and "view database" programs written, and they are working fine, with the exception of a few more additions to be made, but now I have the basis sorted, I have started working on the search facility. I've scoured the Internet for examples on search utilities, but can't seem to get the grasp of this!

What we are wanting is a search field where people can say for example type in "Michael Jackson" and it will search the flat database and pull up all references to the search. The second thing we need is to be able to do a search, for example "Michael Jackson" and it will pull all references to "Michael" and "Jackson".

Is this possible to do in Perl. I'm pressuming it is, but the second problem I have is that the hosting company don't want us installing and modules for Perl as they want to have complete control (Understandably).