41 users online (0 members and 41 guests)  

New User

Status

Question Powered by . . .

Hi All,

I have a webmaster that I pay to build/maintain a proprietary, database-driven website. I have a federal contract that the website is used for as well as private clients.

My webmaster has put "powered by _____" on the bottom of my site with a link to his company. I know this is customary on websites with free hosting accounts or other free tools, but I pay for this.

I've asked him to remove the link and have met resistance. I also met resistance when I asked him to build an administration panel so that I can upload new database entries and remove entries as needed (he does this now, but it bothers me that I don't have access to the back-end of my own system).

Is this the way business is normally conducted with webmasters? I feel like, since I paid for the product, there should be no ads and I should have access to it.

I ran across this board and it seems that you all are professional webmasters, so I want your opinion on the above situation. Any information you can give me would be helpful.

Thanks in advance!

Administrator

Status

Follow HTML On Twitter Add HTML on Facebook Add HTML on Google+ Add HTML on Linkedin Visit HTML's Youtube Channel

Re: Powered by . . .

Welcome to the forums

First thing I would do is go back over the contract with a fine tooth comb, assuming you have a writtin contract. If it is not in the contract, yank the advertisement. If the web designer wanted to advertise I am sure you would have wanted reduced rates or maybe even have chosen another web designer. Regardless, as long as the site is yours the final word is also yours.