37 users online (0 members and 37 guests)  


  Results 1 to 9 of 9

Related

  1. Replies: 0
  2. I can answer ALL your questions    Forum: Myspace Forum
    Replies: 0
  1. #1
    bsharke's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Houston Pa
    Posts
    9

    Can anyone answer this Puhleez!

    I have this pretty much a template website and I have edited almost 90% of the site. My problem is the overall page size. I would like to be able to enlarge it from it's (I believe) 800 width
    How can I do this without editing each and every page. Is this possible. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Here is the url http://www.compassadvisorypartners.com/index.html

    Thanks Bill

  2. #2
    ALL's Avatar
    Super Dooper Nerd

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    382

    Re: Can anyone answer this Puhleez!

    well, you could have all the pages be derived from one CSS file....

    if you want to do that... do this:

    make a file called "default.css"

    in the file put:

    Code:
    .style2 {font-family: Georgia}
    body {
            background-color: #666666;
            margin-left: 0px;
            margin-top: 0px;
            margin-right: 0px;
            margin-bottom: 0px;
    }
    .style3 {color: #CCCCCC}
    a {
            font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
            font-size: 12px;
            color: #000000;
    }
    a:visited {
            color: #000000;
    }
    a:hover {
            color: #003366;
    }
    a:active {
            color: #000000;
    }
    .style6 {
            font-family: Georgia, "Times New Roman", Times, serif;
            font-size: 9px;
    }
    .style7 {font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 9px; }
    .style8 {font-size: 12px}
    body,td,th {
            font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
            font-size: 12px;
    }
    on each page put (in the header):
    HTML Code:
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="default.css" />
    now you can edit the default.css file for all your page edits.

    PS: rather than using a pixle limit, you should always use a % limit, so if the persons resolution is different it will still look similer. somthing like 80% - 85% should do!

  3. #3
    bsharke's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Houston Pa
    Posts
    9

    Re: Can anyone answer this Puhleez!

    Hello....and thanks for the quick response to my problem. I inserted the code into a web page and I still have the problem when I change the width then all the fields would need resized individually. Can I do what I am asking for. Here is where I changed the width in pixels to 1000 to see it. What am I doing wrong. I aplogize for my lack of knowledge of this.

    <div align="center">
    <table width="693" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"

  4. #4
    ALL's Avatar
    Super Dooper Nerd

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    382

    Re: Can anyone answer this Puhleez!

    well, that is what CSS is designed to do... it is made to allow multiple webpages to have the same basic design without extensive editing if needed.

    try reading up on a tutorial on CSS, i am sure there is one here on AHFB2000!

  5. #5
    bsharke's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Houston Pa
    Posts
    9

    Re: Can anyone answer this Puhleez!

    Well I found a lot of interesting codes and managed to change all my links and rollover colors, etc to one style. But I have looked everywhere including the various links availabe for CSS tutoring but could find nothing to solve my problem of changing my web pages intact to a larger size. If you could point me that way I would certainly appreciate it.

    Thanks

    Bill

  6. #6
    ALL's Avatar
    Super Dooper Nerd

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    382

    Re: Can anyone answer this Puhleez!

    did you delete all the styles on each page? i beleve most webbrowsers will take the one on the page before it will take the link'ed one

  7. #7
    bsharke's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Houston Pa
    Posts
    9

    Re: Can anyone answer this Puhleez!

    Hi All....well I must have messed the size up on this one page
    http://www.compassadvisorypartners.com The size has been changed but I see where the width can be changed anymore. It still shows the original width of 693 but it is much larger the all the others which are OK. Any advice will be appreciated.

    Thanks

    Bill

  8. #8
    bsharke's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Houston Pa
    Posts
    9

    Re: Can anyone answer this Puhleez!

    Hello......apparently the page is OK in IE6 it was in Mozilla Firefox where it is the larger size but the width is the same 693 as in IE 6. Any idea why this is so.

  9. #9
    ALL's Avatar
    Super Dooper Nerd

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    382

    Re: Can anyone answer this Puhleez!

    sorry if i sound aragent, but i dont see the problem???



Tags for this Thread