37 users online (0 members and 37 guests)  


  Results 1 to 6 of 6

Related

  1. nested divs in mozilla...    Forum: CSS Forum
    Replies: 2
  2. Replies: 4
  3. Error MySQL Error: 1064 - subqueries    Forum: PHP Forum
    Replies: 0
  4. ASP FormMail error    Forum: ASP Forum
    Replies: 9
  1. #1
    Theonyxguy's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3

    formmail.asp giving error in Mozilla

    I've been using formmail but only tested it on Avant and IE browser. They both worked great (except I can't get realname to display in the email). The other day I used Mozilla and it gave the following error:
    Microsoft VBScript runtime error '800a0009'

    Subscript out of range: '[number: 1]'

    /scripts/formmail.asp, line 164


    part of script:


    '----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    'form validation, checks a valid email address has been specified
    '----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    if query2(0) = "email" then
    trim(query2(0))
    if len(query2(1))<8 then
    response.Write("You must specify a valid ") & query2(0)
    response.end
    end if
    if instr(query2(1),"@")=0 and instr(query2(1),".")=0 then
    response.write query2(1)
    response.Write("You must specify a valid ") & query2(0)
    response.end
    end if
    strEmail1 = split(query2(1),"@")
    if len(strEmail1(1))<3 then (this is line 164)
    response.Write("You must specify a valid ") & query2(0)
    response.end
    end if
    strEmail2 = split(strEmail1(1),".")
    if len(strEmail2(0))<3 then
    response.Write("You must specify a valid ") & query2(0)
    response.end
    end if
    if len(strEmail2(1))<2 then
    response.Write("You must specify a valid ") & query2(0)
    response.end
    end if
    end if




    Any ideas what needs to be rectified?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    cheezylu's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: formmail.asp giving error in Mozilla

    I had this same problem and decided to just comment out some of the e-mail error handling. I am using FormMail.asp V1.3 It has been working great ever since.

    Lines: 152-177
    Code:
    if query2(0) = "email" then
        trim(query2(0))
        if len(query2(1))<8 then
            response.Write("You must specify a valid ") & query2(0)
            response.end
        end if
        if instr(query2(1),"@")=0 and instr(query2(1),".")=0 then
            response.write query2(1)
            response.Write("You must specify a valid ") & query2(0)
            response.end
        end if
        'strEmail1 = split(query2(1),"@")
        'if len(strEmail1(1))<3 then
        '    response.Write("You must specify a valid ") & query2(0)
        '    response.end
        'end if
        'strEmail2 = split(strEmail1(1),".")
        'if len(strEmail2(0))<3 then
        '    response.Write("You must specify a valid ") & query2(0)
        '    response.end
        'end if
        'if len(strEmail2(1))<2 then
        '    response.Write("You must specify a valid ") & query2(0)
        '    response.end
        'end if
    end if

  3. #3
    Theonyxguy's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3

    Re: formmail.asp giving error in Mozilla

    I'm not much of a programmer. So when I couldn't get any help on this I switched to a php script that works fine. http://www.tectite.com. You're the first person that's given me a proper response on it and I posted this in Aug of 2005.

    I appreciate the help.

    Thank you,

  4. #4
    cheezylu's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: formmail.asp giving error in Mozilla

    Quote Originally Posted by Theonyxguy View Post
    You're the first person that's given me a proper response on it and I posted this in Aug of 2005.
    Not a problem. I was surprised no one had replied. When I googled this error I only came up with a few forums where the question had been posed and no one had a clear answer. It seems odd that no one else had this problem.

    Thanks for the tip on Tectite. I think I'm going to try it out on one of my sites. I prefer PHP anyway. Have you had any problems with it?

  5. #5
    Theonyxguy's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3

    Thumbs up Re: formmail.asp giving error in Mozilla

    The only real annoying issue for me is that I can't figure out how to get realname variable to show first and last name. But it's a small one and it probably has to do with my limited knowledge of the language. Other than that I haven't had any issues with it but I haven't tried all its features either. But for receiving email it's great.

  6. #6
    10010110's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: formmail.asp giving error in Mozilla

    The formmail.asp issue seems to have something to do with the @ character in the e-mail adress, probably due to it being converted to a UTF 8 hex entity before being sent to the script. Iím wondering why nobody has fixed that yet.

    Also, though not really knowing what I did since Iím not familiar with ASP and just have to use this script because thereís no other choice (Windows server without PHP and/or MySQL) I changed the value(s) in the brackets to one less and the error was gone:

    Code:
                    strEmail1 = split(query2(1),"@")
                    if len(strEmail1(0))<3 then
                        response.Write("You must specify a valid ") & query2(0)
                        response.end
                    end if
                    strEmail2 = split(strEmail1(0),".")
                    if len(strEmail2(0))<3 then
                        response.Write("You must specify a valid ") & query2(0)
                        response.end
                    end if
    Couldnít test it to the end yet, though, as I have to find out the SMTP server before. However, the error warning disappeard and it only gave me the notice that the transport couldnít connect to the server so something must have changed.

    If someone can tell what the issue is or how to really fix it (as I said: I didnít really know what I did here), that would be very much appreciated.



Tags for this Thread