40 users online (1 members and 39 guests)  

Related

1. Replies: 1
  2. Need help getting a form to handle    Forum: PHP Forum
    Replies: 3
    New User

Status

Can MySQL handle my job?

I am new to MySQL and PHP, but I'm looking at customizing the PHPAuction package for a web auction site. I'm trying to evaluate whether these tools can handle the potential load. Is MySQL scalable to a very high-volume, high-concurrency load? I'm leery of building a mission-critical site based on an open-source database system that I don't know much about. I've worked with SQL Server in the past, and love its tools and capabilities. Can anyone set my mind at ease on building a big application in PHP that will run with MySQL?

Status

Re: Can MySQL handle my job?

Welcome to the forum, Blademaker.

A mySQL database can handle a pretty large volume without sacrificing performance. I have one mySQL database on my server right now that has about a quarter million records (which is small, compared to what it can handle), and have no performance problems with it.

As for security of your PHP application, I haven't found that to me much of a problem. Just make sure you have register_globals turned off for your server, and validate all form fields to prevent SQL injection attack.

Regarding the security of open-source scripts, they're actually more secure as a whole than scripts that aren't open-source. You generally have lots of "white hats" scrutinizing them for security holes. The holes get patched quicker, and there end up being fewer of them.
    Music Around The World - Collecting tips, trade
    and want lists, album reviews, & more

New User

Status

Thumbs down Re: Can MySQL handle my job?

Based on my experience, mySQL can handle high-volume but it has troubles with high-concurrence.
    I have worked in a big gov project with an Oracle database, we have tried to migrate to mySQL and some queries were up to 10 times slower compared with Oracle.