117 users online (0 members and 117 guests)  

Related

1. querystring pass info with link    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 1
  2. Pass Form Checkbox Value on Click    Forum: Javascript Forum
  3. How to Pass Dynamic values in Anchor    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 4
  4. How to pass an array through a form?    Forum: CGI Perl Forum
  5. Pass variable between php scripts.    Forum: PHP Forum
    Replies: 5
    New User

Status

Lightbulb how to pass variables from one .htm to the next .htm?

I am a cobol programmer who is brand new to html and javascript, no exposure at all. I need to modify this hugh out of the box (vendor undisclosed) html and javascript application. I am getting a feel of how this app flows and how I can modify it to fit our business needs, however, one simple concept eludes me. I don't understand how this .htm is opening another .htm and passing variables. The first .htm then closes itself. See my example. I simply want to pass MyNewVariable besides the current ones being passed. MyNewVariable will be used in the second .htm to set another flag. I see where the value of the var "program" in the 1st .htm is passed to the var "prm" in the 2nd .htm, but I have tried various things and cannot figure out how to pass a value of "true" to MyNewVariable in the 2nd .htm. I hope this is enough info. Also, I am using textpad to modify the .htm and .js files. I just change some code then run the .htm and see what happens. Is there a debugger where I can step through the code? I could get my company to buy it if I knew what I needed. Thanks

<!--start 1st .htm-->
    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <META …………..>
    <SCRIPTSRC="/xxxxx/authenticate.js"> </SCRIPT>
    <!-- many more javascripts are loaded , then…-->

<SCRIPT Language="JavaScript">
    // Global Variables.
    var program = unescape(window.location.search) || unescape(window.location.hash)
    program = program.substring(1);
    var perform;
    var PlanCode
    var Reports