37 users online (1 members and 36 guests)  


  Results 1 to 11 of 11

Related

  1. Replies: 1
  2. Replies: 3
  3. If statement inside <td>    Forum: CGI Perl Forum
    Replies: 1
  4. Else If inside While Wend    Forum: ASP Forum
    Replies: 9
  5. textfield in link    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 3
  1. #1
    okahha's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    4

    Question can i add a button inside a textfield?

    hello,
    i'm new here

    just 1 simple question. I want to add a button and a hyperlink "inside" a textarea. Is that possible?

    Well, what i exactly want to do is, to make a textfield which the user have to scroll down to see all the content, and at the end of the text, there is a button for the user to interact with....


    is it clear?

    Thanks for any help....

  2. #2
    benzden's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    652
    Yes. Almost every web site in the world does that. What are you using to try to get this simple procedure on your web page?

    Welcome to the forum, by the way.

  3. #3
    okahha's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    4
    Thanks!
    Let me explain it more...
    well, actually i want to make a textarea which looks like some kind of "agreements" when you install softwares on your computer. (Can u imagine?...) Usually those "agree" or "disagree" buttons are "outside" the textbox which contains the content. But in my case, i don't want the users to see the "agree" button at the begining. They need to scroll down the text, then finally they wiil find the button at the end.

    I hope i did explain it clearly....

    But I don't really know how to put the button "inside" the textarea.
    If i have the code like this:

    <textarea name="textfield">this is the agreement, do you agree?</textarea>
    where should i put the button?


    Thanks....

  4. #4
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Hiya there.

    Using a form textarea, you wont be able to do this, but you can do it using css.

    Code:
    <div style="position: absolute; width: 200px; height: 100px; overflow: scroll; border: 5px solid black;">
    This is VITAL text that I ain't got room for, so I used <i>position</i>, this time defining a width and height and setting the overflow to <i>scroll</i>.
    Its a handy trick if you can't use inline frames, and is supported by more browsers.
    You can include and HTML. This is excerpted from <a href="http://css.somepeople.net">my css tutorials</a>.
    </div>
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  5. #5
    benzden's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    652
    Terrific! Go to

    http://tests.gumint.com

    to see it in action. I changed the absolute to floating (a first try educated guess at that reserved word) to keep the box from overlaying the data already at that site. But, then I moved the action button already there inside the box AND IT WORKS!

    Ain't this forum great?!

  6. #6
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Vnice. Appreciate the mention...

    Yes, this forum rocks. Been coming here for over two years now...

    Notice you have started playing with CSS a lot, Benzden. Another convert!
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  7. #7
    benzden's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    652
    Thanks.

    Forgot to mention I was going to
    rename my test page to the
    "QuietDean" test page since many
    of those tricks came from your
    posts in this forum.

    Yeah, I glom onto anything that
    makes HTML encoding easier - the
    difficulty is understanding it enough
    to see where the efficiencies can
    come into play. I love the <P ID=...>
    code </P> trick which even works
    with a dummy <A ID=...> code </A>
    tag without the HTTP= or FILE= or
    FTP= being required. I just recoded
    my http://hmmm.terriau.net page to
    make each of the "4 topic headings"
    easier to code and edit - look at the
    source code to see how easy it is.

    Look forward to learning more .css
    tricks and options. Have yet to buy
    a reference bible - finding everything
    here and other places is almost as
    fast as reaching for a book on the
    shelf.

  8. #8
    okahha's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    4
    Thanks a lot for help!!!!!

    you know, I'm really happy to be here!!!

    I'll try those codes tonight.
    Thanks again!

  9. #9
    okahha's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    4
    well well well,

    it works great!
    and this is exactly what i want!


    I can't imagine how people can improve and learn without assistances from each other!

    Thanks so much!
    Cheers


    I will definitely learn CSS!

  10. #10
    benzden's Avatar
    Senior Member

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    652
    Yeah, most of us were pretty much on our own
    finding help like this in the early days. We are
    all evolving into a system where some 3 year old
    is going to log-on and show us all up some day.

    (It especially helps to have samples of the code
    doing almost exactly what one wants to do. It
    also helps to have those samples uploaded to their
    own web sites, so that the same threads don't
    have to be repeated over and over again.

    I'm now in the process of uploading my hard drive
    web file creation, editing, staging, backing-up,
    uploading to web host server and other
    maintenance functions at:

    http://hardrive.gumint.com

    That should help newbies avoid a lot of the
    mistakes the rest of us learned how to avoid
    the next time the hard way.)

  11. #11
    Doorknob's Avatar
    Super Newbie

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    316

    RE

    u could always put a FAQ on this site, or point them to one



Tags for this Thread