36 users online (1 members and 35 guests)  

Thread: databases

Related

1. Generating reports from databases    Forum: CGI Perl Forum
    Replies: 2
  2. Replies: 9
  3. Shopping carts and databases    Forum: Website Scripts Forum
    Replies: 1
  4. Shopping carts and databases    Forum: HTML Forum
    Replies: 0
  5. Changing Databases???    Forum: Web Hosting Forum
    Replies: 1
    New User

Status

databases

hi everyone, i am sorry if this is already posted. I am new to website design, very new. I was wondering

1. when you use html to make a form where does the form go, email/database/other?

2. lets say I want it to go to a database, what can I do at the database? with my host i have PHPmyadmin... and a mysql thing, and i realize this is probably stupid, but when it gets to the database then what can I do with it.

*I am trying to make a form where users can log in to their accounts. If anyone has an "idiots guide to forms and databases, lol I would really appreciate it.

Status

Re: databases

Quote Originally Posted by mixkittyluv84 View Post
    1. when you use html to make a form where does the form go, email/database/other?
    The form executes whatever page is listed in the "action" option. For example:

Code:
    <form action="myscript.php" method="post">
    This form executes myscript.php, which can have whatever functionality you want it to have. It can update a database, send an email to someone, whatever.

2. lets say I want it to go to a database, what can I do at the database? with my host i have PHPmyadmin... and a mysql thing, and i realize this is probably stupid, but when it gets to the database then what can I do with it.
    Once you've stored it in your database, you can do a lot of different things with it. For example, retrieve and display data on a web page, use the data to generate an invoice for items purchased, etc.