19 users online (0 members and 19 guests)  

Thread: PHP Tutorials

Related

1. Tutorials    Forum: CSS Forum
    Replies: 1
  2. GDLib Tutorials?    Forum: PHP Forum
    Replies: 2
  3. got tutorials?    Forum: General Discussion
    Replies: 1
  4. CSS Tutorials    Forum: CSS Forum
    Replies: 12
    New User

Status

PHP Tutorials

Hi all,
    Well I have the heading asking for Tutorials, but essentially what I am after is advice on the best way to go about learning php.
    I dont have time to attend college unfortunately, and no funds to pay for an online course. Are there any good tutorial sites out there? I have never written in PHP before, so I would be basically learning from scratch.
    Any advice is much appreciated.

Status

Re: PHP Tutorials

Hi O Dogg,

http://www.tizag.com does a good beginners tutorial on php.
    Of course www.php.net has all the definitions of the php functions, commands etc but can get a bit confusing for a new user. (look under the documentation section).

If i was you (and its the way i learnt) the best way to learn is to start coding your own website. Start first by reading a basic tutorial like tizag and having a grasp of the most common functions, how to use arrays, loops and integrating PHP with html (I use Smarty - a templating engine. It basically seperates your php code from your html code (which is held in a template file. It makes all your code very easy to read and understand).
    Once you have the basic grasp and have proudly done your 'hello world!' program, pick a website that interests you. An arcade website, social communtiy, real estate website, forum website, a personal site - anything that you want and get coding!