50 users online (1 members and 49 guests)  


  Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    B@dger's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Stoke, Uk
    Posts
    13

    Question how do you.......?

    ok i came back to work on my site today and trying to get my site to make some frames, ah with no luck, i tried that site someone gave me before but it just dont make sence to a html retard like me, i want my site to have a frame on the left of the index and the top of my index page

    (something like this http://www.sossquad.com/SOS_SITE.htm)


    erm what can i say other than help,

    *hides*

    *runs away*

  2. #2
    Anomoly's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    8
    http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/html/96/31/index3a.html

  3. #3
    geek987's Avatar
    Man Utd Fans

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    156
    so, u want three frames--one at the top, another at the bottom left and another at the bottom right?

    well, if so, here's the code:

    __________________________________________________

    <frameset rows="25%, *">
    <frame name="top" src="top.html">
    <frameset cols="25%, *">
    <frame name="lower_left" src="lower_left.html">
    <frame name="lower_right" src="lower_right.html">
    </frameset>
    </frameset>

    __________________________________________________

    25% is the size of the frame, * is the remainder size after the 25 %, the name attribute is use for targetting(eg. <a target="lower_right" href="yourlink.html"> )


  4. #4
    B@dger's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Stoke, Uk
    Posts
    13
    lol mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm well it works, kind of,

    i got frames working thanks to geek but i can move the bars, not what. I want the links to the left to open in the centre, that dosnt happen, why? what needs to be changed in that script for it to work like i want?

  5. #5
    B@dger's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Stoke, Uk
    Posts
    13

    look

    http://www.badger.ionichost.com/index.htm

    look, see what i mean

  6. #6
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Ah ha.
    You need to target your links.

    A quick read of the frames tutorials on the left will explain what this means, but ina nutshell, each frame (in the <frame> tag) needs to have a name. Then, in your link, add target="frameName" for whatever name you gave the frame.

    Alternatively, you can have <base target="frameName"> to make all the links on the left open in the middle.

    Hope that helps.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  7. #7
    B@dger's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Stoke, Uk
    Posts
    13
    ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh but it aint workin :-(



    i tried to add each of the things u said but it dont work hmmmm like i said i am retard html, lol

    this is my script could someone put me straight and make me happy then i wont bother you again


    <frameset rows="25%,*" framespacing="0" border="1">
    <frame name="top" src="top.htm">
    <frameset cols="17%,68%,17*">
    <frame name="lower_left" src="lower_left.htm" scrolling="no" noresize>
    <frame name="lower_right" src="lower_right.htm" scrolling="auto" noresize>
    <frame name="right" src="right.htm" scrolling="no">
    </frameset>
    <noframes>
    <body>

    </body>
    </noframes>
    </frameset>

    </html>

    as you can see i am using frontpage because it's easy

  8. #8
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Each of your frames has a name. Which is fine.

    You need to amend the links in the page that is showing in the frame to get this working.

    I had a look, but you have a script diabling right-click, so I cannot view your source to help you. Sorry.

    The 'Download' link, add

    Code:
    target="lower_right"
    to the link tag and see what it does.

    Don't worry, you are not 'bugging' us, we like to help. I do ask, however, that you read the frames tutorial on the left. It takes frame targetting (which is exactly your problem) and explains it in great detail, with examples.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  9. #9
    B@dger's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Stoke, Uk
    Posts
    13
    oh for god sake, i add a fancy script thinking my site will look better in some sort of way and look what happens.......!!


    right i give up with this stupid html, i havnt got the patience for it, lol it really is annoying. i have got rid of that script.... i might just delete the dam page then i wont have this problem

  10. #10
    QuietDean's Avatar
    Administrator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    2,662
    Please don't get dis-illusioned, webdesign is very rewarding after a little persistance.

    I can view your source now.

    Change thsi bit of code -

    Code:
    <a href="http://www.badger.ionichost.com/downloads.htm">Downloads</a>
    to this

    Code:
    <a href="http://www.badger.ionichost.com/downloads.htm" target="lower_right">Downloads</a>
    and that link will work fine. Then do the same for your other links.

    I recommend not using frontpage. Its fair enough using an editor, but frontpage is probably one of the worst. Code by hand, or download a trial version of DreamWeaver.
    Your in the same timezone as me (I am in Bournemouth) so you know its midnight. I am off to bed! g'night.
    If one of our members helps you, please click the icon to add to their reputation!
    No support via email or private message - use the forums!
    Before you ask, have you Searched?

  11. #11
    B@dger's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Stoke, Uk
    Posts
    13
    ok thanks, now it works when i preview it, i looked at dreamweaver, it's like 60mb :-(. i might download it after i finished with making this site

  12. #12
    B@dger's Avatar
    New User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Stoke, Uk
    Posts
    13

    Talking

    yooooooo i am just reporting back at 2.15am to say thanks for the help dean and any other people who did help me cuz now i got all the main parts of my site up just gotta finish and tidy up things tomorrow. But me sure i will be back to ask more question :-)